Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Xubuntu blew up, need guidance. Permissions issue?

Beans

Xubuntu blew up, need guidance. Permissions issue?

I've been running Xubuntu for a few years (but I don't know as much as I should about it) on an Acer NX78 laptop .
    I always leave it on. Last week, It locked up and I had to do a hard restart.

Now, I'm unable to use a lot of the "System" apps when launching them through the GUI. I can run some of them from Terminal, i.e. Synaptic. Even though Synaptic will launch, most of the packages I try to remove or repair give me permission error messages.

I've also lost my wireless and sound capabilities.

I get all kinds of errors when attempting to chop my way through to a fix. That's right, I'm a butcher.

Here's an example of an error when attempting to edit libvirt-bin.postinst

"Error accessing system permissions: Error initializing authority: Could not connect: No such file or directory."

I tried to access that file because:

sudo dpkg --configure -a
    Setting up libvirt-bin (1.2.2-0ubuntu13.1.28) ...
    /var/lib/dpkg/info/libvirt-bin.postinst: 138: /var/lib/dpkg/info/libvirt-bin.postinst: chown: Permission denied
    dpkg: error processing package libvirt-bin (--configure):
    subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 127
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    libvirt-bin

So I'd like some guidance in order to stop barking up the wrong tree. I've spent many hours so far trying to either break or fix this and I'm just tired enough to ask for help.
    Last edited by joe_schell; May 26th, 2019 at 03:35 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: Xubuntu blew up, need guidance. Permissions issue?

I would start by running some tests on the hard drive. Your problem (at least to me) sounds more like a hardware issue than a software issue.

Do you still have your installation medium to try and boot to that? If you can run from that, then I would be looking hard at the hard drive.

Beans