Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to use a package from cosmic in bionic?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    184

    How to use a package from cosmic in bionic?

    The package has a lower version in bionic than in cosmic, how do I use the newer version?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Summerwind
    Beans
    13,553
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie Development Release

    Re: How to use a package from cosmic in bionic?

    Is the newer package version superior or better and if so how ? I would leave the package as is unless you can't live with out it as you may end up with broken packages. If the package did install and work you would have to lock the version to keep it from downgrading. Ubuntu Package Search
    “Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can".

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Flavors

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    184

    Re: How to use a package from cosmic in bionic?

    Quote Originally Posted by Frogs Hair View Post
    Is the newer package version superior or better and if so how ? I would leave the package as is unless you can't live with out it as you may end up with broken packages. If the package did install and work you would have to lock the version to keep it from downgrading. Ubuntu Package Search
    I guess the only to do this is to download the packages from disco repository (which happen to have the same version number as in cosmic) and apt install them in bionic? If they don't work, then apt remove these packages and do reinstall from bionic repo.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    6,274
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: How to use a package from cosmic in bionic?

    Quote Originally Posted by ping-wu View Post
    The package has a lower version in bionic than in cosmic, how do I use the newer version?
    Generally, you don't.

    Each Ubuntu release has the version it has, and doesn't get newer versions.

    You'll probably have more luck adding a PPA for newer versions than trying to install bare deb files. You might also find a snap, which is a self-contained way of running applications.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    184

    Re: How to use a package from cosmic in bionic?

    Quote Originally Posted by CatKiller View Post
    Generally, you don't.

    Each Ubuntu release has the version it has, and doesn't get newer versions.

    You'll probably have more luck adding a PPA for newer versions than trying to install bare deb files. You might also find a snap, which is a self-contained way of running applications.
    Any tutorial that explains how one can go from the existing Ubuntu/Debian packaging to doing a snap?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sunny Southend-on-Sea
    Beans
    6,274
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: How to use a package from cosmic in bionic?

    Quote Originally Posted by ping-wu View Post
    Any tutorial that explains how one can go from the existing Ubuntu/Debian packaging to doing a snap?
    There's this one. I've never used them, though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    8,564
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate

    Re: How to use a package from cosmic in bionic?

    There is also this tutorial:
    https://tutorials.ubuntu.com/tutoria...c-snap-usage#0

    Have never installed snaps, only removed some and no adverse affects to the system (as far as I could tell).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •