Thread: Newbie seeks Linux programming mentor.

Beans

Newbie seeks Linux programming mentor.

Hi all,

I am teacher who would like to use my Linux OS instead of Windows or Mac.
    The only thing holding me back is being able to print.
    The school uses a print server (I hope my terminology is right) called Uni-flow made by NTware for Canon.
    But a Linux version doesn't exist.
    I have been quoted $325-625AUD for a solution. Crikey.

But I thought that if I had access to the apple version of the app, and can read/access the script, could I try to write a linux version based on it?
    I have no knowledge of programming, but am interested in seeing if it is possible, and learning along the way.
    I'm also happy to ditch the idea, if more experienced people here tell me it's a waste of time.

So I guess my first question is: Is it possible to write a linux app based on an apple one?

Thanks for reading.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: Newbie seeks Linux programming mentor.

Hi and welcome to the forum. You posted to a section of the forum (Ubuntu Dev Link Forum) that is so neglected I had to clear a path through the cobwebs to move your post. It wasn't really the best place anyway. I've moved this to Ubuntu, Linux & OS Chat where forum members should be able to address your general questions about transitioning to a Linux-based OS, preferably Ubuntu!

As this is a chat area, it's really for discussing general points. If, as a result of discussion, you have some specific technical questions to ask, please do start a support thread in a support area of the forum.

Good luck!
    Ubuntu 20.04 Desktop Guide - Ubuntu 22.04 Desktop Guide - Forum Guide to BBCode - Using BBCode code tags

Member: Not Canonical Team