Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: In virtualization, does guest OS inherit host OS security?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

In virtualization, does guest OS inherit host OS security?

I don't have in virtual systems installed, but there is something I have been wondering about...
    If you install Windows 7 as a guest OS in a virtual system: KVM, Virtualbox, VMware, etc, does the host OS, *buntu, provide any security to the guest OS.
    Does the guest OS inherit host OS security?
    Cheers,
    I am not an expert on anything, but I pretend to be one at times.
    Software expands to consume available system resources.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: In virtualization, does guest OS inherit host OS security?

Sorta, but not really.

The hostOS has features that can make Windows easier to recover after pwnage, like LVM snapshots.
    Also, the host networking can be configured in different ways to protect the guests or not.

We treat all our KVM guests like physical machines and don't make use of much hypervisor-specific capabilities for any purposes. If I need a remote desktop into a desktop VM, I setup x2go inside the VM. The VM host doesn't know anything about that. When we do backups, the backup server connects to each VM (and the host) like they are each physical machines and does the "pull" backups nightly. We have been playing with sheepdog for backend, redundant, storage replicated across multiple nodes and that is tied to KVM specifically, but that's the only thing I think we do specific to the hypervisor. I wasted about 4 yrs trying to get solid, fast, efficient, backups working treating the VMs like they were VMs. In the end, that was a waste of time and just too slow. I suppose some smarter people may have found a way to use the hypervisor features to accomplish daily, versioned, fast, efficient with storage backups, but I've never seen any.