Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Beans
    7

    Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    Hello, my first post (yay!).

    How do you change scaling mode? Like, stretch the image or having black bars on the side. In windows, you can just head to amd/nvidia settings and change it there, but how do you do it in Linux ubuntu?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Arizona U.S.A.
    Beans
    5,762

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    Use the Tweaks Tool:
    Tweaks > Appearance > Background > Adjustment

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Beans
    7

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    But can you do it exclusively for games when changing resolution to 4:3 for example? I'm not currently on ubuntu, but planning on to switching, just need to know a few things. If you don't mind, can you show a video of how you do it and results?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Arizona U.S.A.
    Beans
    5,762

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    The adjustment in post #2 is for background image on your screen, not adjusting the monitor resolution.
    You can adjust the monitor resolution in Settings > Devices > Displays > Resolution

    Tweaks and Settings are two different guis to adjust things. Settings is there by default, Tweaks has to be installed by the user.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Beans
    7

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    But that is what I asked for in my opening post, how to either maintain aspect ratio or stretch it. Now what I want is not to adjust the resolution itself, but the scaling. I'm a cs player, and I need to know whether I can change to maintain aspect ratio or stretch the remaining pixels.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Arizona U.S.A.
    Beans
    5,762

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    I took a screenshot of the adjustments dialog - see attached image. By resolution they don't mean dpi, but aspect ratio in pixels. In virtual machines, the display often initially defaults to 4:3 which leaves bars on right and left. I use the Settings dialog to change to the native resolution 16:9 which is persistent.

    You can always try the "Try Ubuntu" version of Ubuntu on the installer to see what these settings do to your monitor.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Beans
    7

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    If you look at the images below, you can see by what I mean. The one without black bars is full panel whilst the one with black bars is maintain aspect ratio.

    csgo_4_3_stretched_4.jpgcsgo_4_3_stretched_1.jpg

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_D6...ature=youtu.be'

    In that video you can see how to change that in windows. Is there any similar way to do it in Linux, specifically ubuntu?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Arizona U.S.A.
    Beans
    5,762

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    I see the effect. It could be available in the game's own display settings for certain games, but I haven't seen it in any Ubuntu settings dialogs except for the background image settings previously mentioned.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Beans
    7

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    When you install amd/nvidia drivers, can you not do the exact same like in windows?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Arizona U.S.A.
    Beans
    5,762

    Re: Changing scaling mode in ubuntu, to either stretch or maintain aspect ratio.

    Quote Originally Posted by exiits View Post
    When you install amd/nvidia drivers, can you not do the exact same like in windows?
    That's seems likely. The same thought occurred to me after logging off. My system only has integrated Intel graphics and that is all I have for reference, so someone else here may have more information about what's possible when using a dedicated graphics card.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •