Thread: A Python program for tag search and maintenance in file names

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

A Python program for tag search and maintenance in file names

Hi, I don't really know if this is the right subforum for my message.

I have been using for several years a Python program I wrote and refined in time for searching and maintaining tags within file names. The program is called "qtag". It searches for filenames containing words or word beginnings (tags) or not containing certain tags. For example, "qtag liv mp4" would find "Pink Floyd Live.mp4", "PinkFloydLive.mp4" and "Lively.Jack.mp4", but not "Deliverance.mp4" (because "liv" is not at the beginning of a word, it's not a tag). A colon before a tag means "not" -- "qtag liv :Jack mp4" (not Jack) would not find "LivelyJack.mp4" but would find the other two files. You can have as many tags as you like, in any order. Adding "-w" writes links to the found files into a working directory and opens it with the default file manager. There are more options for mass tagging and untagging, appending more links to the working directory, case sensitive search etc. etc. One can use wild characters and regex expressions and so, also strings that are not at the beginning of a word can be searched for.

All that qtag does can be done with other commands, esp. with find... exec, but qtag is much easier to use for purposes related to tag management.