Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help for newbie with some basic questions about Ubuntu

Beans

Question Help for newbie with some basic questions about Ubuntu

Hello. I think I should start in that case I'm 10+yrs Windows (now Windows 10) user. And you know, it's terrible . I mean I'm not a developer, but that updates, gliches and all other stuff.... just enough for me. In future I'm thinkin to buy mac, but for now I want to try Ubuntu. And many friends just scary me "uuuhhh, ubuntu is not for basic users", "uuuuhhh on ubuntu you can't install programs and other staff", "uuhhh ubuntu is hard OS". So what is the true? What I need is youtube, facebook, torrents, video player and google drive. How about that? And is it true there is no programs for Ubuntu?

Ubuntu just look safe for me and stabile. Thats why I want to try it.

Please, help me with that .

P.S. and what is Ubuntu LTS? I mean LTS have long term support? But then what is the point to install non LTS version?
    Last edited by lisati; December 31st, 2018 at 08:38 PM. Reason: Please keep language family-friendly

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Re: Help for newbie with some basic questions about Ubuntu

There are plenty of programs available of the types you listed.

Quote Originally Posted by kibiras View Post
    P.S. and what is Ubuntu LTS? I mean LTS have long term support? But then what is the point to install non LTS version?
    The LTS versions get security updates, bug fixes, and browser updates, but everything else stays at the same version. You'd use the interim versions if you really need the latest versions of things, or if you want to help with testing. New users should stay with LTS versions.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by CatKiller View Post
    There are plenty of programs available of the types you listed.