Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    58

    Exclamation Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    Hello,
    I have discovered a problem with my system recently. I searched quite a lot but my system isn't used very widely in general. The mother board is a Acer v3-572pg. It's branded as a Aspire V15 Touch laptop (I believe, it could be V5). My model has a combo jack with a 3.5mm jack for both microphone and headphone. My headset's microphone is not recognized in the system. It seems like the general fix that is using the dell-headset-multi option doesn't work. I know that my Realtek codec is the ALC283. Except that... I am in the blind. If you need any other specific information, I'll do my best to provide them. Also, I use Ubuntu 18.04.1.
    Last edited by mikasu; December 31st, 2018 at 04:52 PM. Reason: forgot to mention the OS and version of the OS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Beans
    110

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    Hi mikasu,

    Can you please try overriding pin 0x19 from "not connected" to "microphone" using hdajackretask and advise if you see any improvements?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    58

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    I got the error: tee: /sys/class/sound/hwC1D0/reconfig: Peripheral or resource busy. Shall I do a boot override and reboot? Or is there something else?
    In pavucontrol, it's still the internal mic that is detected and used.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Beans
    110

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    Hi mikasu,

    Before you go any further with hdajackretask, can you please try the following:

    1. In Terminal, run: sudo nano /etc/pulse/default.pa
    2. Above the line: .ifexists module-udev-detect.so, add the line: load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:0,0
    3. Save the changes, then still in Terminal, run: pulseaudio -k; pulseaudio -D
    4. Run pavucontrol and check if you can see your mic input under the Input Devices tab
    5. Make sure you have commented any "options snd-hda-intel model=" lines you might have added in: /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

    Please let me know if that helped at all.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    58

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    I found this in my file in the section of interest:
    Code:
    ### (it's probably better to not load these drivers manually, but instead
    ### use module-udev-detect -- see below -- for doing this automatically)
    #load-module module-alsa-sink
    #load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:1,0
    #load-module module-oss device="/dev/dsp" sink_name=output source_name=input
    #load-module module-oss-mmap device="/dev/dsp" sink_name=output source_name=inp$
    #load-module module-null-sink
    #load-module module-pipe-sink
    
    ### Automatically load driver modules depending on the hardware available
    .ifexists module-udev-detect.so
    load-module module-udev-detect
    .else
    considering that my ALC283 is recognized as the card 1(I discovered that through my research), should I just uncomment the line above?

    Proof of the card number:
    mikasu@Aspire-V3-572PG:~$ grep -r Realtek /proc/asound/card*
    /proc/asound/card1/codec#0:Codec: Realtek ALC283
    mikasu@Aspire-V3-572PG:~$
    Last edited by mikasu; January 2nd, 2019 at 08:01 AM. Reason: added my proof about the card number

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Beans
    110

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    Hi mikasu,

    Do you mean un-commenting line: #load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:1,0 ?

    If yes, please go ahead and carry on from step 3 of my previous post then report back here if it has worked.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    58

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    I rebooted to make sure the changes in the alsa-base.conf were applied. We have a progress, in pavucontrol, the microphone input from the ALC283 card is now recognized. Only thing is that it behaves like there is no mic plugged in. So no sound level bars like the integrated mic which now has it's own device. And it was a yes about the line.
    Last edited by mikasu; January 2nd, 2019 at 09:09 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Beans
    110

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    Hi mikasu,

    Can you please provide me with the output of the following command: aplay -l

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Beans
    58

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    here it is:
    Code:
    mikasu@Aspire-V3-572PG:~$ aplay -l
    **** Liste des Périphériques Matériels PLAYBACK ****
    carte 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], périphérique 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Sous-périphériques: 1/1
      Sous-périphérique #0: subdevice #0
    carte 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], périphérique 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
      Sous-périphériques: 1/1
      Sous-périphérique #0: subdevice #0
    carte 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], périphérique 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
      Sous-périphériques: 1/1
      Sous-périphérique #0: subdevice #0
    carte 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], périphérique 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
      Sous-périphériques: 1/1
      Sous-périphérique #0: subdevice #0
    carte 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], périphérique 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
      Sous-périphériques: 1/1
      Sous-périphérique #0: subdevice #0
    carte 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], périphérique 0: ALC283 Analog [ALC283 Analog]
      Sous-périphériques: 0/1
      Sous-périphérique #0: subdevice #0
    mikasu@Aspire-V3-572PG:~$
    I'm sorry if you struggle to understand, my operating system is setup in french because I am a native french speaker and I prefer using my system in french. So far, I translated the error codes the best I could.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Beans
    110

    Re: Acer v3-572pg, headset microphone not working

    Hi mikasu,

    Don't worry about the French language in your output, I am French myself so that's not really a problem (or at least to me)

    Just for the sake of completion, can you please try adding the line: load-module module-alsa-source device=hw:0,0 (and commenting the one which ends in 1,0) as previously stated in my post #4 then follow it from step 3 onward?

    I just want to make sure we cover our basis here.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •