Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Random System Freezing in Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS

Beans

Question Random System Freezing in Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS

Hello all, I'm a newbie to Linux so please bear with. Been getting some random system freezes lately. ctrl+alt+dlte doesn't fix so hard resets are necessary. Any way I can troubleshoot this? How do I find out what caused it. I'm running a new pc build with a Ryzen 5 2400 cpu w/ integrated Radon Vega 11 graphics, Samsung EVO 500gb HD. I installed from a USB stick.

Are there any CLI commands or GUI programs that can register issues in the system?

Topsiho is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Random System Freezing in Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS

Hi,

I have (possibly) exactly the same problem with one of my computers, and not at all with the other one. Hard freezes which force to use the power button to halt the computer, risking (it happened) that the computer could not be booted anymore. Both computers then with Ubuntu 18.04, but see below.

Problem is that sometimes (weeks) there is no freeze at all, and other times several in one day. I have the impression that most or all freezes happen shortly after booting, but am not sure.
    Anyway, I installed Linux Mint 19.1 on it and so far experienced one freeze (of mouse clicks only this time) so I could reboot the computer as it should.

I have found:
    https://digitalfortress.tech/debug/w...buntu-freezes/

and am waiting for the now Mint computer to freeze again, after which I intend to take the measures mentioned here.

Hope that this helps.

Topsiho

Beans

My system freezes are still happening even with recent auto Ubuntu updates. Do I need to check for memory leaks? If so , how do I do this?

My PC is a new custom build with a Ryzen 5 2400G with Vega 11 graphics, 16GB ram , 500GB SSD.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Quote Originally Posted by arcman7 View Post