Thread: How Canonical/Ubuntu loosing their oportunity over and over in Desktop world

Beans

How Canonical/Ubuntu loosing their oportunity over and over in Desktop world

Firstly small intro:

I joined Linux world 7 years ago and since than I have been using many distros - mainy Ubuntu based ones.
    My main goal was to get OS which could support my hardware and get rid off Win XP.
    The first thing I read on Ubuntu forum was that as a newbie I would have to learn a lot about Linux and ... I did.

Now after few years I spotted that obligation of learning lays always on end users but never on OS suppliers.
    Generally I must say that I am unfortunately disappointed with Linux and particularly with Ubuntu.

My main issues with Linux/Ubuntu are:

1. DRIVERS
    Drivers never were the strongest point of Linux and when you buy PC you must choose wisely because Linux might not even start on it.
    I unfortunately noticed also totally lack of interested in taking care of that subject by Canonical/Ubuntu teams.
    In my case:
    I have 2 core CPU 64bit + 8 GB + Intel graphics card (safest choice).
    3 years ago I installed 14.04 which was working ok with some wifi problems.
    Now I was going to install 18.04 (Ubuntu/Xubuntu/Lubuntu) and it turns out that my graphics card is not supported any longer as a old one.
    Naturally nomodeset opition does't work and there is one solution that I found on Ubuntu forum ... buy new machine or find new distro.
    From my point of view adding wide range of graphics drivers should be always crutial for LTS release.
    At the same time Win 10 works perfectly out of the box.

Why can't Cannonical add ,instead of increasing ISO size with other stuff (latest Gimp, Libre), let say 500-700MB with drivers - especially with LTS release?
    Noone knows.

Another example.
    There is well known problem with scanners in 18.04 (sane issue) spotted 1 year ago and totally ignored by Ubuntu team.