Thread: graphics driver for Intel Graphics 4500MHD

Beans

graphics driver for Intel Graphics 4500MHD

Hello. I am very new to linux, and I have a 2008 HP Notebook G60 with an intel graphics media accelerator 4500MHD. I have tried to open War Thunder in steam (on Lubuntu and Manjaro) and with the files downloaded from warthunder.com (on Lubuntu, Manjaro, and Ubuntu.) On each of the listed systems, I have gotten an error window that tells me my "Your video card or it's driver may not be supported. Be sure to install the best driver and try again." So I tried installing different drivers on Manjaro and Lubuntu, and both times the screen would work during boot up, but right before the login screen was shown, the screen would go black. I am not sure which drivers I installed. I was forced to load a different OS because I couldn't find a way to open the terminal without the screen. I tried logging in a minute after the screen went dark, then waiting 30 seconds, and doing ctrl+alt+T (which normally opens a terminal) waiting 15 seconds, typing "sudo reboot"(which worked before I tried the new driver) waiting 5 seconds, and typing my password. Nothing happened. I tried this several times, each with different times between operations and all ending with the same result: nothing. After trying to open war thunder in Ubuntu, (I haven't tried steam yet, but the tar.gz file from warthunder.com kicked the same error report as that in previous systems and in steam did) I decided to try playing an online game. (Shellshockers) It ran at 400 ping and 2 FPS. On my chromebook it ran just fine. (between 5 and 50 ping, and about 30FPS. My chromebook has 4gb RAM, dual core@1.6GHZ and integrated graphics.) I was wondering if anyone knows of a driver that will solve my graphics cards problems or if I need to get a new graphics card. Thank you!

Note: my HP notebook G60 has an intel pentium t4200(dual core @ 2.00 GHZ), and 3GB RAM(500MHZ, I think)

Beans
    Distro