Thread: Ubuntu does not boot

Beans

Ubuntu does not boot

This is my first time using ubuntu and linux, so i am a complete beginner at this stuff. I have been getting a lot of errors while trying to install ubuntu on a new laptop, with a completely clean hard-drive aside from FreeDOS it came with. The laptop is an HP OMEN 15-ce0xx. It has an i5-7300HQ and a GTX 1050. It has UEFI. The secure boot option is disabled by default and grayed out. Trying to set a password, then trying to change secure boot after a reboot doesn't work; it's still grayed out. I have tried it with legacy support on and off. I have switched USBs, I have switched port but nothing worked. I have also googled extensively and nothing solved it. I'm probably missing a lot of other things I should tell in order to find the root cause of this issue, but as I said; I'm a complete beginner and i know nothing about this stuff :/ The problem starts when i try to install ubuntu. I have tried it by booting ubuntu on the USB and I have also tried it by installing it on the computer. The md5 checksum also checks out. The ubuntu logo with 5 white dots below it appears and it gets stuck at the last one. I have tried seeing whats going on by pressing escape but since I cannot copy it (at least I don't know how to do it) and I don't have access to internet on that computer, i cannot post it here. So i am going to write it byt hand. (There might be a lot of typos, sorry)
    [0.042141] ACPI Error: [_SP_.PCIO.RPO5.PXSX] Namespace lookup failure, AE_NOT_FOUND (20170831/dswload2-191)
    [0.042153] ACPI Exception: AE_NOT_FOUND, During name lookup/catalog (20170831/psobject-252)
    [0.042158] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed \_SB.PCIO.RPO4.PXSX, AE_NOT_FOUND (20170831/psparse-550)
    [0.042669] ACPI Error: [_SP_.PCIO.RPO5.PXSX] Namespace lookup failure, AE_NOT_FOUND (20170831/dswload2-191)
    [0.042677] ACPI Exception: AE_NOT_FOUND, During name lookup/catalog (20170831/psobject-252)