Thread: Rsync 3 mounts with email report, need guide suggestions

Beans

Rsync 3 mounts with email report, need guide suggestions

I would like to have a Ubuntu 18.04 headless VM do an rsync between mounted shares. My problem is mainly there are too many search results and I'm not sure how to choose. I'm still fairly new to linux but I find I can generally get things done if I'm following a GOOD guide; please give me suggestions to follow, thank you!

Project goals
    -Two backup jobs with two different schedules
    -Want detailed email results of what happened

Main mount is SMB share on FreeNAS
    Backup mount is SMB share also on a FreeNAS, send the contents of Main to this every week.
    Remote mount is SMB share over a VPN to remote Synolgoy, send the contents of Main to this nightly.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Rsync 3 mounts with email report, need guide suggestions

Using SMB for backups is problematic. It will drop user, group and important file permissions - SMB just doesn't support those well. Those are necessary to have any hope of a restore that actually works.

SMB is commonly attacked by crypto-malware. If the storage is mounted, the crypto-malware will encrypt all the backed up data, making those backups useless.

Using straight rsync for backups is also problematic assuming you backup to Unix file systems without SMB/CIFS getting in the middle. File ownership, groups, and permissions changes are lost over time. To capture those changes as part of the backup requires using a real backup tool or manually capturing that data with the data part of the backups.

I would be worried about having primary and backup on the same physical system too. But if you can ensure separate physical disks are used and you've proven the restore from them is possible should FreeNAS OS be unavailable, great. I wouldn't assume that to be true, especially for someone new to Unix systems. Is your FreeNAS backup disk(s) using UFS or ZFS?