Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 80 of 80

Thread: multiple distros

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Highgrove, Ky
    Beans
    217
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: mulitable distros

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcanulty View Post
    An easy way would be to install virtual box and download any systems you want to install and put them all in virtual box.
    just to let ya know, i did pay attention to this.
    on on the other side of the coin, i am going to the start of this thread, and reread it, more than a few times..
    Last edited by oneleded; 6 Days Ago at 02:34 PM.
    the only bad question is one that is not asked.

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Highgrove, Ky
    Beans
    217
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    You have to attach screen shots.
    If you use the Forum's advanced Editor and paperclip icon it is easy to attach screenshots.
    /home/led is your system which we cannot see.
    i went back to the beginning. /home/led; is probably the 1st thing i should have concentrated on.
    the only bad question is one that is not asked.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Highgrove, Ky
    Beans
    217
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    Ubuntu now uses a swap file.
    But if you have a swap partition it will use it.
    since i will be using other dristro's, on the linux drive, shouldnt i keep the swap partition? just in case.
    should i just swapoff or un-mount swap, whether i need to or not, when editing with a live installer?
    Last edited by oneleded; 5 Days Ago at 06:18 PM.
    the only bad question is one that is not asked.

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    Other distros may want swap.
    But you cannot hibernate nor encrypt an install and use same swap as another system will overwrite what is saved. But if not do either, then you can share a swap partition. Swap file is inside Ubuntu so would not be shared.
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Highgrove, Ky
    Beans
    217
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    ^^^^ thanks; that is what i thought, but wanted to confirm it. ( info with swap)
    getting back,, "/home/led" on sdb1 is beyond my knowledge. i've read, and reread mount/umount options from many different sources.
    sdb4, i cant repair, because it is mounted. i can use umount; then try. i might as well.
    in the end i have to re-establish "/home/led" for sdb1,, an, "/root" for sdb4..
    then there is the end-game option of just starting over.
    the easy way out, so to speak. that would free up your time, and mine.
    i dont mind spending my time. not the same with yours.
    i just might have messed up sdb, and its partitions, where they cant be fixed.
    do i still got a shot?
    i forgot to add;; i got the generic grub2 back on 1st XP drive, sda. when, booting, i choose the ubuntu/lubuntu option, i get a black screen, with white writing. i got past name, an password. its for sdb4 i think. the repair, wont work, because the sdb4 partition is mounted, . it does not show up on the resent pictures, but, it seems, it still is mounted, and not so accessible.. i have to go back an tell ya the post #number, that shows it. got the star, an other sign's.
    Last edited by oneleded; 3 Days Ago at 08:34 PM. Reason: takes 6 or more times,for me understanding what i write.
    the only bad question is one that is not asked.

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Highgrove, Ky
    Beans
    217
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    i wanted to copy and paste this before i lose it. i deleted everything on the sdb drive, except, sdb1. that was where my problem began. my next move is to reestablish, /home/led.. i checked several sites over the past few days, an i might be onto something.. ..
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ etc/fstab
    bash: etc/fstab: No such file or directory
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ /etc/fstab
    bash: /etc/fstab: Permission denied
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ sudo /etc/fstab
    sudo: /etc/fstab: command not found
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ sudo umount /dev/sdb1
    umount: /dev/sdb1: not mounted.
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ umount /dev/sdb
    umount: /dev/sdb: not mounted.
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ fsck -A /dev/sdb
    fsck from util-linux 2.31.1
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ fsck -y /dev/sdb
    fsck from util-linux 2.31.1
    e2fsck 1.44.1 (24-Mar-2018)
    fsck.ext2: Permission denied while trying to open /dev/sdb
    You must have r/w access to the filesystem or be root
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ sudo fsck -y /dev/sdb
    fsck from util-linux 2.31.1
    e2fsck 1.44.1 (24-Mar-2018)
    ext2fs_open2: Bad magic number in super-block
    fsck.ext2: Superblock invalid, trying backup blocks...
    fsck.ext2: Bad magic number in super-block while trying to open /dev/sdb

    The superblock could not be read or does not describe a valid ext2/ext3/ext4
    filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains an ext2/ext3/ext4
    filesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), then the superblock
    is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
    e2fsck -b 8193 <device>
    or
    e2fsck -b 32768 <device>

    Found a dos partition table in /dev/sdb
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ sudo fsck -y /dev/sdb1
    fsck from util-linux 2.31.1
    e2fsck 1.44.1 (24-Mar-2018)
    /home/led: clean, 11/1970416 files, 167726/7869696 blocks
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ sudo fsck -r /dev/sdb1
    fsck from util-linux 2.31.1
    e2fsck 1.44.1 (24-Mar-2018)
    /home/led: clean, 11/1970416 files, 167726/7869696 blocks
    /dev/sdb1: status 0, rss 2848, real 0.140497, user 0.046076, sys 0.004188
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ # touch /forcefsck
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ sudo e2fsck -C0 -p -f -v /dev/sdb1

    11 inodes used (0.00%, out of 1970416)
    0 non-contiguous files (0.0%)
    0 non-contiguous directories (0.0%)
    # of inodes with ind/dind/tind blocks: 0/0/0
    Extent depth histogram: 3
    167726 blocks used (2.13%, out of 7869696)
    0 bad blocks
    1 large file

    0 regular files
    2 directories
    0 character device files
    0 block device files
    0 fifos
    0 links
    0 symbolic links (0 fast symbolic links)
    0 sockets
    ------------
    2 files
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ sudo e2fsck -f -y -v /dev/sdb1
    e2fsck 1.44.1 (24-Mar-2018)
    Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
    Pass 2: Checking directory structure
    Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
    Pass 4: Checking reference counts
    Pass 5: Checking group summary information

    11 inodes used (0.00%, out of 1970416)
    0 non-contiguous files (0.0%)
    0 non-contiguous directories (0.0%)
    # of inodes with ind/dind/tind blocks: 0/0/0
    Extent depth histogram: 3
    167726 blocks used (2.13%, out of 7869696)
    0 bad blocks
    1 large file

    0 regular files
    2 directories
    0 character device files
    0 block device files
    0 fifos
    0 links
    0 symbolic links (0 fast symbolic links)
    0 sockets
    ------------
    2 files
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ ls -al /media/
    total 0
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 60 Apr 21 17:47 .
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 260 Apr 21 17:47 ..
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Apr 21 17:47 cdrom -> /cdrom
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$ ls -al /media/aelm/
    ls: cannot access '/media/aelm/': No such file or directory
    lubuntu@lubuntu:~$
    the only bad question is one that is not asked.

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Highgrove, Ky
    Beans
    217
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    i thought i was careful not to involve 1st. hd sda windows XP. i. maybe was not careful enough. i might have upset grub, by what i was doing. it dont like change. happy easter anyway.
    i know to use the generic windows, grub2., for sda/xp.. ..
    i did remove fast boot from xp or bio's. it makes a difference. i dont have to race to get to F-lock key, to use the F12 key. it dont slow loading down all that much anyway., or even speed it up..
    Last edited by oneleded; 3 Days Ago at 09:20 PM.
    the only bad question is one that is not asked.

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    You only run fsck on a partition like sdb1, not on a drive like sdb or sda.
    That is why you has so many errors at beginning.
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Highgrove, Ky
    Beans
    217
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    while i was running sudo command's; i ran something like this; sudo umount -a etc.. i think -a included XP on sda1. any way, with grub or repair disk, i got windows xp back...
    i only had the XP drive in. the yellow/orange cord broke to one of the sata drives, i figured i needed it more with XP.. i repaired the cord, though my iso sees sdb, grub doesnt.
    "grub legacy".
    i think i need to update grub, from my live 18.04 disk. 1st.
    once sdb is seen, then,,,
    i copied a few commands that might get back, /home/led.. =sdb1
    they are on my camera, an without XP working, i couldnt print them, or copy them here.
    sometimes i dream or think, mkdir. maybe a few others. must be making some progress. thanks, ed
    the only bad question is one that is not asked.

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Highgrove, Ky
    Beans
    217
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: multiple distros

    just a small question. is RAID, important to me? and do i need it?.. i dont think so.
    y/n
    got one more question? when formatting to ext4, is ext4 64-bit?
    y/n . i read a post, dont mean it's true. and if it is, as long as it works, i dont care.
    Last edited by oneleded; 5 Hours Ago at 05:24 AM.
    the only bad question is one that is not asked.

Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •