Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Global Permissions

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Global Permissions

I am rather new to this operating system (just a few days).
    Right now, I am attempting to create a new folder and extract files into it.

Problem is; my system seems to think that I; the only account on the system, in turn an Administrator, does not have permissions to do so...

I have found some posts online for adding permissions to existing directories, but only one directory at a time, and it will not allow me to make new ones to give myself permissions to.
    My question is; is there a command that gives me full access to read, write, change, and run anything anywhere at one time? A single command that does that, rather than having to go folder-by-folder, file-by-file, across the entire system...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Global Permissions

Okay, this is really becoming an issue now...
    I can't download any files from the web, I can't install anything via Terminal, I can't save any files from any program, and I can't open many programs...

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Quote Originally Posted by bobgrey1997 View Post
    …is there a command that gives me full access to read, write, change, and run anything anywhere at one time? A single command that does that, rather than having to go folder-by-folder, file-by-file, across the entire system...
    The short answer is "Yes". The responsible answer is: "Yes, but it's an absolutely terrible idea to do so.

Changing permissions is admittedly somewhat convoluted and obscure. But it's that way for good reason. New users, and in particular those coming from Windows, tend to bring their bad Windows habits with them. Especially if they were Windows power users, those habits are almost guaranteed to get them into deep trouble. I'm sorry if this sounds like a lecture—I certainly don't intend it as such—but there's no delicate way to say it.