Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Apt-get update Causes Error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Beans
    13

    Apt-get update Causes Error

    Hi,

    I actually have two issues running with Ubuntu.

    1. Whenever I run apt-get update in the terminal, the following error shows:

    Code:
    E: Malformed entry 55 in list file /etc/apt/sources.list (Component)E: The list of sources could not be read.

    2. Whenever I open any terminal, the following error automatically populates:

    Code:
    The program 'mpicc' can be found in the following packages:
     * lam4-dev
     * libmpich-dev
     * libopenmpi-dev
    Try: sudo apt install <selected package>
    No completion added for /home/austincibulka/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-v1806/platforms/linux64GccDPInt32Opt/bin
    ... incorrect platform, or not yet compiled?

    It is apparent to me that number two is related to my most recent installation of OpenFOAM, but I am not too sure how to remove that error.

    Thank you for any help.

    Austin
    Last edited by DuckHook; August 29th, 2018 at 03:53 AM. Reason: Added [CODE] tags for clarity

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Beans
    62
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Apt-get update Causes Error

    1. Open the /etc/apt/sources.list file with a text editor and look at line 55. What does it say? For example you can use gedit to open that file (without permissions to modify it, that requires root):

    Code:
    gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    To view the line number, enable the display of line numbers in Gedit (Preferences > VIew tab).

    2. It sounds like something in your ~/.bashrc file is triggering that. Can you post the contents of your ~/.bashrc file? You can open it in Gedit using this command:

    Code:
    gedit ~/.bashrc
    My Ubuntu / Linux / open source website LinuxUprising.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Beans
    13

    Re: Apt-get update Causes Error

    Quote Originally Posted by logix2 View Post
    1. Open the /etc/apt/sources.list file with a text editor and look at line 55. What does it say? For example you can use gedit to open that file (without permissions to modify it, that requires root):

    Code:
    gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
    To view the line number, enable the display of line numbers in Gedit (Preferences > VIew tab).

    2. It sounds like something in your ~/.bashrc file is triggering that. Can you post the contents of your ~/.bashrc file? You can open it in Gedit using this command:

    Code:
    gedit ~/.bashrc

    1. See attached for line 55 (highlighted):
    Line55.png

    2. Contents of ~/.baschrc file:

    Code:
    # ~/.bashrc: executed by bash(1) for non-login shells.
    # see /usr/share/doc/bash/examples/startup-files (in the package bash-doc)
    # for examples
    
    
    # If not running interactively, don't do anything
    case $- in
        *i*) ;;
          *) return;;
    esac
    
    
    # don't put duplicate lines or lines starting with space in the history.
    # See bash(1) for more options
    HISTCONTROL=ignoreboth
    
    
    # append to the history file, don't overwrite it
    shopt -s histappend
    
    
    # for setting history length see HISTSIZE and HISTFILESIZE in bash(1)
    HISTSIZE=1000
    HISTFILESIZE=2000
    
    
    # check the window size after each command and, if necessary,
    # update the values of LINES and COLUMNS.
    shopt -s checkwinsize
    
    
    # If set, the pattern "**" used in a pathname expansion context will
    # match all files and zero or more directories and subdirectories.
    #shopt -s globstar
    
    
    # make less more friendly for non-text input files, see lesspipe(1)
    [ -x /usr/bin/lesspipe ] && eval "$(SHELL=/bin/sh lesspipe)"
    
    
    # set variable identifying the chroot you work in (used in the prompt below)
    if [ -z "${debian_chroot:-}" ] && [ -r /etc/debian_chroot ]; then
        debian_chroot=$(cat /etc/debian_chroot)
    fi
    
    
    # set a fancy prompt (non-color, unless we know we "want" color)
    case "$TERM" in
        xterm-color|*-256color) color_prompt=yes;;
    esac
    
    
    # uncomment for a colored prompt, if the terminal has the capability; turned
    # off by default to not distract the user: the focus in a terminal window
    # should be on the output of commands, not on the prompt
    #force_color_prompt=yes
    
    
    if [ -n "$force_color_prompt" ]; then
        if [ -x /usr/bin/tput ] && tput setaf 1 >&/dev/null; then
        # We have color support; assume it's compliant with Ecma-48
        # (ISO/IEC-6429). (Lack of such support is extremely rare, and such
        # a case would tend to support setf rather than setaf.)
        color_prompt=yes
        else
        color_prompt=
        fi
    fi
    
    
    if [ "$color_prompt" = yes ]; then
        PS1='${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\[\033[01;32m\]\u@\h\[\033[00m\]:\[\033[01;34m\]\w\[\033[00m\]\$ '
    else
        PS1='${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\u@\h:\w\$ '
    fi
    unset color_prompt force_color_prompt
    
    
    # If this is an xterm set the title to user@host:dir
    case "$TERM" in
    xterm*|rxvt*)
        PS1="\[\e]0;${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\u@\h: \w\a\]$PS1"
        ;;
    *)
        ;;
    esac
    
    
    # enable color support of ls and also add handy aliases
    if [ -x /usr/bin/dircolors ]; then
        test -r ~/.dircolors && eval "$(dircolors -b ~/.dircolors)" || eval "$(dircolors -b)"
        alias ls='ls --color=auto'
        #alias dir='dir --color=auto'
        #alias vdir='vdir --color=auto'
    
    
        alias grep='grep --color=auto'
        alias fgrep='fgrep --color=auto'
        alias egrep='egrep --color=auto'
    fi
    
    
    # colored GCC warnings and errors
    #export GCC_COLORS='error=01;31:warning=01;35:note=01;36:caret=01;32:locus=01:quote=01'
    
    
    # some more ls aliases
    alias ll='ls -alF'
    alias la='ls -A'
    alias l='ls -CF'
    
    
    # Add an "alert" alias for long running commands.  Use like so:
    #   sleep 10; alert
    alias alert='notify-send --urgency=low -i "$([ $? = 0 ] && echo terminal || echo error)" "$(history|tail -n1|sed -e '\''s/^\s*[0-9]\+\s*//;s/[;&|]\s*alert$//'\'')"'
    
    
    # Alias definitions.
    # You may want to put all your additions into a separate file like
    # ~/.bash_aliases, instead of adding them here directly.
    # See /usr/share/doc/bash-doc/examples in the bash-doc package.
    
    
    if [ -f ~/.bash_aliases ]; then
        . ~/.bash_aliases
    fi
    
    
    # enable programmable completion features (you don't need to enable
    # this, if it's already enabled in /etc/bash.bashrc and /etc/profile
    # sources /etc/bash.bashrc).
    if ! shopt -oq posix; then
      if [ -f /usr/share/bash-completion/bash_completion ]; then
        . /usr/share/bash-completion/bash_completion
      elif [ -f /etc/bash_completion ]; then
        . /etc/bash_completion
      fi
    fi
    
    
    source /home/austincibulka/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-v1806/etc/bashrc
    Last edited by DuckHook; August 30th, 2018 at 03:55 AM. Reason: Added [CODE] tags for clarity

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    19th Hole
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Apt-get update Causes Error

    Please post your output between [CODE] and [/CODE] tags for clarity. Or highlight the output and use the button in the *Adv Reply* toolbar.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    US
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Apt-get update Causes Error

    Your line 55:
    Code:
    deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu stable
    What it should look like:
    Code:
    deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu xenial stable
    Reference:
    https://docs.docker.com/install/linu...the-repository
    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository \
       "deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu \
       $(lsb_release -cs) \
       stable"
    lsb_release would be xenial, in your case.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Beans
    13

    Re: Apt-get update Causes Error

    Problem number 1 on my original post has been solved. Are there any suggestions solve problem number 2?

    Thank you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Apt-get update Causes Error

    For problem 2 you might try commenting out the "source /home/austincibulka/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-v1806/etc/bashrc" line, so that it appears as
    Code:
    # source /home/austincibulka/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-v1806/etc/bashrc
    However I have no knowledge of OpenFOAM and I can't say whether or not this will cause any issues. After making the change restart your terminal to check.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    4,941

    Re: Apt-get update Causes Error

    Quote Originally Posted by oldos2er View Post
    For problem 2 you might try commenting out the "source /home/austincibulka/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-v1806/etc/bashrc" line, so that it appears as
    Code:
    # source /home/austincibulka/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-v1806/etc/bashrc
    However I have no knowledge of OpenFOAM and I can't say whether or not this will cause any issues. After making the change restart your terminal to check.
    That is the problem. the script loads OpenFoam's environmental variables which shadow the system's default and may lead to unexpected errors (it is a computional Fuid mechanics program) I think depending on how it is installed openfoam may ask if you want to put that line in .bashrc (or may tell you to do it yourself)

    @OP, I would as oldos2er says remove that line and run it in the terminal every time you use openfoam

    I would create an alias in .basrc like

    Code:
    alias load_OF="source /home/austincibulka/OpenFOAM/OpenFOAM-v1806/etc/bashrc"
    Then run openfoam with
    Code:
    load_OF 
    openfoam

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •