Thread: Can't get past GRUB Minimal BASH

Beans

Can't get past GRUB Minimal BASH

Hello! I'm new to Linux and decided to try installing Ubuntu from a live USB. Yesterday, I installed Ubuntu in the BIOS version by accident, so I tried deleting my Linux partitions and GRUB. I really want to get through the installation, so I tried to do it in UEFI this time so that both Windows and Linux could be in UEFI mode. It went fine, but when I restarted my laptop, I got a black screen that says:
    "Minimal BASH like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. anywhere else TAB lists possible device or file completions."

I've looked around some forums and I've tried the boot repair solution, but boot repair tells me it's fixed and I get the same screen when I try to reboot.

I can get back to Windows using the fourth comment’s suggestion here: https://unix.stackexchange.com/quest...b-command-line

I'm thinking that I didn't properly delete/update GRUB, so it can't find my files. My idea is that uninstalling and reinstalling GRUB might work, but I have no idea how to go about doing that... Is there any way to repair this? Help would be greatly appreciated! I don't know what information might be useful, but I'll gladly provide it if asked
    Last edited by longitude; July 10th, 2018 at 03:54 PM.

Beans

Re: Can't get past GRUB Minimal BASH

It's very odd you mention this. I have been using Linux for years, and I just stumbled onto this issue today and have been severely stumped. I have reset all of my UEFI/BIOS settings to optimized defaults and formatted all my drives and I still run into this issue. I have also tried several USB's, at least one of which I have used successfully for an install previously.

EDIT
    There's another thread with the same issue: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2395995

What I have tried:
    - Tested 2 different flash drives, one of which I have used to install on my system previously