Thread: Internal Name/Address Resolution Issue

Beans

Question Internal Name/Address Resolution Issue

Hi all, I'm a casual server hobbyist so please forgive my ignorance.

I recently put up an 18.04 home server with Nextcloud. Nextcloud provides a smartphone app which connects to the server. I want to be able to put in my external server address, cloud.example.com, and have it work both outside of AND within my home. However, I find that while it works flawlessly over VPN our outside of my home, connections over the LAN within my home are sporadic, and I often receive "page couldn't load" errors. Refreshing a few times will eventually restore the connection for a few seconds or minutes, but it persistently drops out.

I have modified the /etc/hosts file as such:

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    ::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain example.com
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain cloud.example.com

The firewall is accepting all necessary Apache connections. There do not appear to be rules in my router affecting access. For those familiar with Nextcloud, I have also added several permutations of my internal IP and domain name to the trust domains list.

Can someone help me determine why my within-network connection is so unreliable? Am I forgetting some settings which would allow better within-network name/server resolution? Thank you!!
    Last edited by regnumimbriumx; June 19th, 2018 at 02:59 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Internal Name/Address Resolution Issue

Android only uses DNS for name resolution, so you must setup DNS server inside your home for the correct, static, nextcloud server to be found using the internal LAN IP. You can thank google for this. I think it is in Android 6.1.1 and later, but it may have happened in v6.0
    https://superuser.com/questions/1160...cal-dns-server