Thread: Can't connect to the network

Beans

Can't connect to the network

Hello,

I'm running ubuntu 16.04 on vmware, my vm network adapter is set to share with my mac (I know mac isn't the best choice, I plan to get a pc in the fall)

I'm new to ubuntu, this forum, and posting to forums in general, so I'm sorry in advance if I do something wrong.
    I'm currently in an intro to Linux class and we are working on networking. I'm having problems with my system and can't get ahold of my professor. We've done some messing around with the network settings, but I reverted to an old snapshot so the settings would be back to normal. Unfortunately I didn't save the system state before reverting to the old snapshot. The snapshot I am using now doesn't seem to be able to connect to the network. I've tried the following commands (the results are listed in each sub bullet point)

• ping www.google.com

• sudo apt-get install upgrade
      • E: Unable to locate package upgrade

• sudo apt-get install
      • 0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

• when I try to ping another ip address on my LAN
      • connect: Network is unreachable

• sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
      • [ok] Restarting networking (via systemctl): networking.service.
      • If I try pinging after that, I get the same response as shown above, nothing changes

• ip a
      • 1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1

link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    indet 127.00.0.1/8 scope host lo
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/120 scope host
    2: ens33: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:0c:29:d8:30:77 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::20c:29ff:fed8:3077/64 scope link

• cat /etc/network/interfaces

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system