Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ralink RT3090 has slow connection speed 16.04

Beans

Ralink RT3090 has slow connection speed 16.04

Hello,
    I am new to linux and setting up my lenovo Z575 laptop with Ubuntu 16.04. Everything seems to be working well, except the wireless network speed is very slow. My computer is dual boot with Windows 7. In Windows, I get 30 MB/s download and upload speeds. In linux, I am getting 0.3 and 1.8 MB/s download and upload speed, respectively. I've updated and upgraded, disabled IPv6, rebooted router and computer. I ran the wireless info script and the results can be found here:

http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/Z6KDrZjmQr/

I would appreciate any help you can give me. Please let me know if there is any other information you need. Thanks!

Matt

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Ralink RT3090 has slow connection speed 16.04

Please do:
    Code:
    echo "options rt2800pci  nohwcrypt=1" | sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/rt2800pci.conf
    sudo modprobe -rfv rt2800pci
    sudo modprobe -v rt2800pci
    Then:
    Code:
    sudo sed -i 's/wifi.powersave = 3/wifi.powersave = 2/' /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/default-wifi-powersave-on.conf
    When you run the first command if you get an error let me know and we will change the number 1 to a y becasue all of the file you posted is not there so I can not be 100 percent sure if it should be a 1 or a y but it will not hurt to run the command.
    I think that will help a lot.

Beans

I tried the code you suggested. Did not get any errors and I rebooted my computer. Did not seem to make much of a difference. Maybe a slight improvement... I reran the wireless script:

http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/TYDJVV22HK/

I could try pasting the text, but it is a pretty long file.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

I know it is a long file but very easy to do with copy and paste function to pastebin.