Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dropping Unity was the most stupid thing to do...IMHO

Beans

Dropping Unity was the most stupid thing to do...IMHO

I tried the new LTS Beta, and in comparison to the 16.04 it's like every other average Linux distro. Why would Ubuntu abandon something that actually made Ubuntu it's own thing, and "rejoin the pack", as I read in some silly article justifying the stupid change?! I tried almost every kind of DE available, and nothing even comes close to Unity, especially if you are using a laptop. And I use Ubuntu for actual work, not just for browsing and testing distros. I am a translator, and as someone who is used to mainly keep his hands on the keyboard, Unity is perfect for me. Since most of the time I use my laptop, and not my phone or tablet or what have you, Unity is the most ergonomic DE out there, now wasting a single pixel of my screen on bulky title lanes and glittery gimmicky bloats. And moreover, it's so less distracting when I get to see the menu's only when I need them - yes, I am talking about the global menu and the hud. Unity is the most effective and the most minimalistic workspace out there, and everything else compared to it, to me feels like a toy. Again, why would you abandon a feature that made Ubuntu better than Windows and Mac combined...it's beyond me, really.
    Last edited by Aleksej; March 18th, 2018 at 02:17 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: Dropping Unity was the most stupid thing to do...IMHO

Not a technical support request. Thread moved to Recurring Discussions.

And...

Quote Originally Posted by Aleksej View Post
    Again, why would you abandon a feature that made Ubuntu better than Windows and Mac combined...it's beyond me, really.