Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    88

    Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    Ubuntu 17.10 (xorg), gnome 3.26.2.

    I suddenly began having this problem when I try to run gnome-terminal, I can't figure out what caused this:


    main19@system19:~$ gnome-terminal
    Error constructing proxy for org.gnome.Terminal:/org/gnome/Terminal/Factory0: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.gnome.Terminal: Timeout was reached
    main19@system19:~$

    This causes gnome--terminal not to start.

    I have tried looking online, everyone says it is a locale problem, here is my locale output:


    main19@system19:~$ locale
    LANG=en_US.UTF-8
    LANGUAGE=
    LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_NUMERIC="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_TIME="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_COLLATE="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_MONETARY="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_MESSAGES="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_PAPER="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_NAME="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_ADDRESS="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_TELEPHONE="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_MEASUREMENT="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_ALL=
    main19@system19:~$


    I have run out of ideas, if anyone can provide help with this that would be great.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Beans
    608

    Re: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    Error constructing proxy
    I haven't seen that one in the terminal. Have you tried purging and reinstalling?

    Code:
    sudo apt purge gnome-terminal
    
    rm ~/.config/gnome-terminal
    
    sudo apt install gnome-terminal

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    88

    Re: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by cruzer001 View Post
    I haven't seen that one in the terminal. Have you tried purging and reinstalling?

    Code:
    sudo apt purge gnome-terminal
    
    rm ~/.config/gnome-terminal
    
    sudo apt install gnome-terminal
    I have done that..... no improvement, still the exact same problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Beans
    608

    Re: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    Like you, my searches point to locale being the problem.

    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2295530

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    12,533

    Re: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    Could you make keyboard shortcuts with
    Code:
    LANG=C gnome-terminal
    or
    Code:
    LANG=POSIX gnome-terminal
    and give them a try?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    88

    Re: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by vasa1 View Post
    Could you make keyboard shortcuts with
    Code:
    LANG=C gnome-terminal
    or
    Code:
    LANG=POSIX gnome-terminal
    and give them a try?
    I am sorry to say this, but.... I don't know what you're asking me to do. "Keyboard shortcuts" are what exactly?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    88

    Re: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    I ended up refreshing my HOME directory, that solved this problem.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Beans
    1

    Re: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by goodstuff9 View Post
    Ubuntu 17.10 (xorg), gnome 3.26.2.

    I suddenly began having this problem when I try to run gnome-terminal, I can't figure out what caused this:


    main19@system19:~$ gnome-terminal
    Error constructing proxy for org.gnome.Terminal:/org/gnome/Terminal/Factory0: Error calling StartServiceByName for org.gnome.Terminal: Timeout was reached
    main19@system19:~$

    This causes gnome--terminal not to start.

    I have tried looking online, everyone says it is a locale problem, here is my locale output:


    main19@system19:~$ locale
    LANG=en_US.UTF-8
    LANGUAGE=
    LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_NUMERIC="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_TIME="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_COLLATE="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_MONETARY="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_MESSAGES="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_PAPER="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_NAME="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_ADDRESS="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_TELEPHONE="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_MEASUREMENT="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_US.UTF-8"
    LC_ALL=
    main19@system19:~$


    I have run out of ideas, if anyone can provide help with this that would be great.
    In case anyone finds this thread in the future, on 18.04 I had this issue until I uninstalled Chrome Remote Desktop. I couldn't get it to play nice with GNOME 3, and forgot I installed the package. Try removing it and see if that helps.
    Code:
    $ sudo apt remove chrome-remote-desktop

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Beans
    1

    Re: Can no longer run gnome-terminal

    Quote Originally Posted by vectorphresh View Post
    In case anyone finds this thread in the future, on 18.04 I had this issue until I uninstalled Chrome Remote Desktop. I couldn't get it to play nice with GNOME 3, and forgot I installed the package. Try removing it and see if that helps.
    Code:
    $ sudo apt remove chrome-remote-desktop

    BINGO! That was indeed the problem. Thanks!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •