Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

  1. #1

    MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    Hi,
    I have installed Ubuntu and everything works as far as I can see, but I did get a error messages when I did reboot.
    And I can find this in the log files.

    Couldn't get size: 0x800000000000000e
    MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list
    Couldn't get size: 0x800000000000000e


    I have a Lenovo Thinkpad T470s and I have disabled Secure boot in BIOS and I'm running UEFI only at the settings so "old" BIOS don't work, but I do have the Intel SGX on Software Controlled but I don't know if it's because of that?

    Does someone know how to solve the issue?
    Visit NohaTech to read guides and news regarding server softwares like NGINX, SSMTP, Seafile, Wordpress, Server and Network security, Calibration, MariaDB and much more.
    Visit https://nohatech.se for more information.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    Can you tell us which Ubuntu version you installed?

  3. #3

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    Hi,
    I did install Ubuntu 18.04.

    It do looks like that this error message is appearing when I reboot the computer I can see it appear in the log files.
    Visit NohaTech to read guides and news regarding server softwares like NGINX, SSMTP, Seafile, Wordpress, Server and Network security, Calibration, MariaDB and much more.
    Visit https://nohatech.se for more information.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    Quote Originally Posted by calby View Post
    I did install Ubuntu 18.04.
    So moved to Ubuntu Development Version

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Rezzoaglio (GE) Italy
    Beans
    202
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Beans
    5

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    I am running Ubuntu Xenial 16.04.3 LTS with HWE. I began getting similar errors only after upgrading to kernel 4.13.0-26-generic.

    kernel: [ 0.982630] Couldn't get size: 0x800000000000000e
    kernel: [ 0.982929] MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list
    kernel: [ 0.986380] Couldn't get size: 0x800000000000000e

    The errors seem to be related to an attempt to import UEFI keys for Secure Boot.
    I do not have Secure Boot enabled in my BIOS but do only boot in UEFI.
    I have a SuperMicro board with American Megatrends BIOS Version 2.2
    I was able to stop the errors simply by changing a setting in the BIOS from [Customized] to [Standard] for Secure Boot Mode.
    The Customized setting allows you to modify the secure boot keys manually. The Standard just sets the default keys.
    Note: This fixed my error even though I previously had Secure Boot [Disabled] in BIOS settings.

    Security -> Secure Boot -> Secure Boot Mode -> [Standard]

    Hope this can possibly help others.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    Steve!!! You're a lifesaver. This worked.

    Nice Job

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Beans
    1

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    In my case the problem dissapired after I unplugged DVD-RW drive.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Beans
    1

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    I'm having the same problem, but the hardware is a Mac Mini.
    The bootable thumb drive (created in Ubuntu 16.04) works on one Mac Mini (newer) but not on another (older, cannot be upgraded to latest macOS - so I want to put Ubuntu on it. I've done this for an older MacBook Air).
    That I know of, there's no way to access the boot rom.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    30

    Re: MODSIGN: Couldn't get UEFI db list

    I have discovered on my newly-set-up multiboot system that if I install grub from one Linux but then I boot to a second Linux in the menu list, I get the error message shown at the grub splash screen. (However, Linux boots for me despite the error.) The error is not there if I boot into the Linux from which I installed grub!

    I confirmed this: I re-installed grub from the second Linux. Now the second Linux boots without the error, but the first Linux boots with the error.
    So I could make make the error go away by reinstalling grub from the Linux that will boot first in the list by default.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •