Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Beans
    4

    Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    Hi all,

    Since yesterday Skype is not working on my computer (Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS, 64 bits). I can open it and enter my data but after some seconds loading, it quits. When I try to open it from the Terminal, the same happens, and no warning/error messages appear.
    I uninstalled it and then reinstalled it many times, in different ways, but I have the same problem. Besides, when I uninstall it, it is never appearing in my Software Center, which is strange (I have the Canonical options clicked)...

    Thank you for the help!

    Mara

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    My dreams
    Beans
    3,535
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    What's your CPU? Latest Skype requires a SSE3 capable CPU.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    13,687
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    Quote Originally Posted by kostkon View Post
    What's your CPU? Latest Skype requires a SSE3 capable CPU.
    Really? Isn't SSE2 enough?
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    My dreams
    Beans
    3,535
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    Quote Originally Posted by mrgs View Post
    Really? Isn't SSE2 enough?
    According to Microsoft, no
    Screenshot-2017-11-8 The new Skype for Desktop is here.png
    Nonetheless, they state it's an known issue and they are working on a fix.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Beans
    4

    Re: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    How can I know this? I'm not very familiarized with computers.
    And, another thing, the Software Center is not working in general. I tried to install chrome, but when I click Install, it does nothing.
    Besides, when I try to install something in the terminal I get this message:

    "dpkg: error processing archive google-talkplugin_current_amd64.deb (--install):
    cannot access archive: No such file or directory"



    thanks!
    Last edited by mortiba; November 8th, 2017 at 09:51 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    My dreams
    Beans
    3,535
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    Quote Originally Posted by mortiba View Post
    How can I know this? I'm not very familiarized with computers.
    It's actually called "SSSE3", I always miss the last 'S'. Anywho, what happens when you run this command in the terminal? You should get one or more lines of output, the same number of lines as your CPU cores:
    Code:
    cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep -io ssse3
    Quote Originally Posted by mortiba View Post
    And, another thing, the Software Center is not working in general. I tried to install chrome, but when I click Install, it does nothing.
    Besides, when I try to install something in the terminal I get this message:

    "dpkg: error processing archive google-talkplugin_current_amd64.deb (--install):
    cannot access archive: No such file or directory"
    Are you running that command from same folder that this file is in?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Beans
    4

    Re: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    Hi kostkon,

    When I run that command I get 8 times ssse3.

    About the dkpg, yes, I think I was in the same folder.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    13,687
    Distro
    Xubuntu 19.10 Eoan Ermine

    Re: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    To make the confusion complete there is both an SSE3 and an SSSE3 but according to the screen shot posted SSSE3 is the one in question.

    So happy that most of my friends use Hangout.
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    4,369

    Re: Skype does not load and does not appear in the Software Center

    Maybe your configuration is somehow corrupt? Open the hidden folder .config and delete the the subfoldder skypeforlinux and see if restarting skype works.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •