Thread: Hello and have an immediate problem

Beans

Hello and have an immediate problem

Hello I am new to Ubuntu proper as I have used it briefly years ago but Windows was still going strong then but Windows now seems to be going in a direction I don't really appreciate.
    Now my first immediate problem is my printer and it is not included in the listings of printers that can be installed in Ubuntu and apart from buying one that does which entails a fair amount of financial loss to me I am stuck for what I can do. So any advice would be most appreciated.

As for replies to this thread I am also not sure how one is notified of replies can someone please fill me in on this too.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Hello and have an immediate problem

What's the printer?
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful

Beans
    Hidden!

We have a Printer troubleshooting guide
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DebuggingPrintingProblems

Go there and follow appropriate guidelines for your case and while doing that if any errors please let us know.

Thanks
    Raja
    Dont miss anything even it is small. one small pin is enough to bring down a man.

Beans

Hello and thanks for the reply the printer is an HP Officejet 8600 pro but I am also having many problems with Ubuntu now because the version I had before had an orange screen and was so easy to navigate at the moment I have a blank desktop except for one icon which opens up to show docs pics etc but nothing to see what is happening in the drive. There are no apps which I thought were supposed to be downlaoded with the install and one downlaod I tried ti install myself -Libre Office which I use in Windows and find very good but have no idea of how to install it form the download.