Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Install gdm via script

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Beans
    4

    Install gdm via script

    Hello,

    I'm currently working on a install script for new Ubuntu installations. I have to instal Ubuntu on several pc's and I would like to automate the process.
    In this process I'll switch from lightdm to gdm.

    I'm using Ubuntu 16.04 LTS and a bash script.

    Right now I install gnome-common and gdm, but from there I have no idea how to archive the rest.

    Normally, if you install gdm via terminal you'll get to a menu and there you can select gdm3 instead of lightdm. Is there a command line way for the same thing? And how can I suppress this menu?
    Second thing to do, is to switch to GNOME in the install screen.

    I would like to know, if this is possible and how!

    Thanks for you're help, Dark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC (USA)
    Beans
    1,769
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Install gdm via script

    Hi Dark! If no one has done so already, Welcome to the forums!

    I would suggest you look into a configuration management tool like, Ansible, Chef, Puppet, Salt Stack, etc. They are dedicated tools to make large scale deployments easier. I personally use Ansible when I need to scale, but that is personal preference. Find whichever one works best for you and run with it.

    Normally, if you install gdm via terminal you'll get to a menu and there you can select gdm3 instead of lightdm. Is there a command line way for the same thing? And how can I suppress this menu?
    Second thing to do, is to switch to GNOME in the install screen.
    I would recommend trying the following command
    Code:
    sudo apt install gdm3 gnome-common -y
    Hope that helps!
    ~Caboose
    "When our actions do not, our fears do make us traitors." -- Shakespeare
    "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not!" -- Dr. Seuss


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Beans
    4

    Re: Install gdm via script

    Thanks, this is my first conversation on this Forum.

    I do not work for a company and I would like to stay by my script solution, because it is much easier for me.

    Quote Originally Posted by Caboose885 View Post
    I would recommend trying the following command
    Code:
    sudo apt install gdm3 gnome-common -y
    I use the "-y" parameter already to confirm the installation of the new packages. I'm not sure, if you know what exactly I mean.

    Here is a picture:


    Is it possible to send the key strokes via xdotool? If yes, how do I send the commands while bash performs the installation command?

    Darkproduct

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    17,329

    Re: Install gdm via script

    How about you purge lightdm, then install gdm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC (USA)
    Beans
    1,769
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Install gdm via script

    +1 to purge lightgdm them installing gdm. Easiest path to get it done. No sense in reinventing the wheel.

    Why don't you just use the minimal install as the base for the system? Then you won't have to worry about duplicate packages

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Beans
    4

    Re: Install gdm via script

    Thanks for the advice. Purging lightdm was exactly what I needed.

    The only thing that is left, is to switch to GNOME in the loggin screen:

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Charleston, SC (USA)
    Beans
    1,769
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Install gdm via script

    Would it not work to just remove the alternate desktop environment that you won't be using? Then it would be switched to GNOME automatically.

    Code:
    sudo apt remove cinnamon
    "When our actions do not, our fears do make us traitors." -- Shakespeare
    "Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It's not!" -- Dr. Seuss


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •