Thread: Major Cross Platform Softwares on Ubuntu

Beans

Major Cross Platform Softwares on Ubuntu

Hello Everyone,
    I am a newbie here. Just registered. I would appreciate your suggestions about the software(s)
    which can be run on cross platforms parallelly with Windows here in Ubuntu.
    TIA

Beans

Re: Major Cross Platform Softwares on Ubuntu

There's some great stuff on offer. LibreOffice for an office suite. Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox are both great cross-platform browser options, and if you need an email client, Thunderbird is amazing (as long as you can stand the interface). Pigdin is a good chat client, and for virtualization, VirtualBox is hard to beat. Let me/us know if you need something else

EDIT: Make sure you don't use anything from the GNOME/KDE Projects, because they're Linux-only.
    Last edited by mrgnome; July 19th, 2017 at 08:48 AM.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by rajdeeproy View Post
    Hello Everyone,
    I am a newbie here. Just registered. I would appreciate your suggestions about the software(s)
    which can be run on cross platforms parallelly with Windows here in Ubuntu.
    Your question is too broad. You can, with a minimum amount of internet searching, probably answer such a question yourself.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by mrgnome View Post
    There's some great stuff on offer. LibreOffice for an office suite. Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox are both great cross-platform browser options, and if you need an email client, Thunderbird is amazing (as long as you can stand the interface). Pigdin is a good chat client, and for virtualization, VirtualBox is hard to beat. Let me/us know if you need something else

EDIT: Make sure you don't use anything from the GNOME/KDE Projects, because they're Linux-only.
    You are mistaken when you say GNOME/KDE are Linux-only.