Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu or Mint

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Question Ubuntu or Mint

As a Windows System Administrator - I am new to Linux. I am going to install it on my new XPS 13. (i7, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD)
    I have done some research and I am seeing Ubuntu and Mint getting thrown out there a lot. Which would you recommend I throw on here and why?

Thanks-

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate Development Release

Re: Ubuntu or Mint

Hello and welcome to the forums, although this may be a hard question to answer in my opinion they both have great features, I run both on different machines and also dual boot. I think it would be a good idea to give them both a try and see how you like them

You can run the live installer and just browse the OS and see if it's something you might want as your only operation system, just as to try answer your question I do use Ubuntu as my main desktop for all my daily use and it works flawless for me. With the specs you have on that machine I'm sure you will also have a great experience with both

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by clickster View Post
    ... - I am new to Linux. .... Which would you recommend I throw on here and why? ...
    This sort of question gets asked a lot.

The most objective answer is to try out as many distros as you like and choose the one you and your hardware (your and competence level) are most comfortable with.

Beans

Hey clickster,

Linux Mint or Ubuntu hmmm, I use them both and like them.

If coming from a Windows 7 or Windows XP environment I think Linux Mint is easier to migrate to as the GUI is more Windows like imo.

Where I attend Church we upgraded all of the Windows XP desktop computers to Linux Mint 18 Xfce 64 bit and all computers found printers and worked without problems OOTB.

Nobody seemed to have difficulty adapting to Linux Mint and are amazed at how well it is working.