Thread: Network Manager Failing to Start

Beans

Network Manager Failing to Start

I was experiencing a wifi conection that kept going in and out so I attempted to restart the network manager, and now I dont have any internet conection. Now whenever I open up the Network window in settings I get a window saying "The system network service is not compatiblewith this version".

When I run

> systemctl status NetworkManager.service

I get some red text that says "code=exited, status=1/FAILURE" and "Failed to start Network Manager".

I dont know what to do next, or what other info to give so if anyone could help I would be really thankful.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: Network Manager Failing to Start

I am no expert here at all on this, but I would probably try reinstalling the network manager.

Is this a laptop? If so, another thing that quite often fixes that problem (and quite a few others) is to power off the laptop, remove power cord, and remove battery. Now go and do something else for 10 minutes. Reassemble and retry.

Beans

I tried to reinstall it, but it gives me some errors about failing to fetch archives.

And no, its not a laptop.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

What version of Ubuntu are you running?

Beans

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by troubled15 View Post
    I was experiencing a wifi conection that kept going in and out so I attempted to restart the network manager, and now I dont have any internet conection. Now whenever I open up the Network window in settings I get a window saying "The system network service is not compatiblewith this version".

When I run

> systemctl status NetworkManager.service

I get some red text that says "code=exited, status=1/FAILURE" and "Failed to start Network Manager".

I dont know what to do next, or what other info to give so if anyone could help I would be really thankful.