Thread: partition help to dual boot lubuntu/win7

Beans

partition help to dual boot lubuntu/win7

I've had it with windows and used a lubuntu 17.04 live usb to save a few files from the win laptop that ended up with a virus. I'd like to try dual booting Win7(home) with lubuntu - I'm still an Illustrator user (CS1 files do not convert happily to Inkscape, in my experience) and I have an unreplacable program that no one has reported attempting to use with Wine (yet). The machine in question is a Lenovo U460.

What would be the preferred order of operations for partitioning and cleaning up the Win installation? I don't have a disc, but the laptop does have a recovery partition. Should I adjust the partitions, do a system restore on win, then install lubuntu?

What partitions do people suggest? Keep in mind that all my files are currently off-machine, but I'd like to be able to share the files between lubuntu and win.

Using my live USB, gparted shows the following:
    sda1, ntfs, (my live usb, yes?), 200MB, flagged boot
    sda2, ntfs, 421GB
    sda3, extended 29GB, flagged lba
    sda5, ntfs, lenovo, 29GB
    sda4, ntfs, lenovo_part, 14.75, flagged diag

When I look at the disc preferences I see the 500GB drive as having 5 partitions that are seperated a little differently:
    file system, partition 1, 210BM, ntfs (says this is my mounted live USB)
    file system, partition 2, 453GN, ntfs
    partition 3, 0k unknown
    free space 31GB
    Lenovo_Part, partition 4, 16GB, ntfs
    I'm further baffled by the listing on the left of the disc preferences of four 503MB block devices that must be the RAM and a 919MB "loop device" that says "backing file: /cdrom/casper/filesystem.squashfs". Any idea what that loop device is? I also see the live USB stick on this list too. Clearly I've never looked at this stuff via windows.

Any assistance would be appreciated! Thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: partition help to dual boot lubuntu/win7