Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    16

    Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    I have a small xUbuntu 14.04 server doing instrumentation on my boat. I don't want to have a monitor for it, I just want to open a console from my Windows Nav using Putty. The box that xUbuntu is booting has a tty0 but there is no connection in copper to that port. I need to use a USB -> RS232 com port.

    I can't find any instructions on how to do this with anything but Ubuntu 6 and the directors are all different. Don't trust it.

    Would anyone know where to look to find instructions on how to do this?
    Last edited by hillboy2; May 19th, 2017 at 05:20 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    Desparate...
    Last edited by hillboy2; May 19th, 2017 at 05:19 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    U.K.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    If you are desperate, here are a couple of articles found in a two minutes search ..

    https://blog.mypapit.net/2008/05/how...in-ubuntu.html

    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1716756

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    Thank you. Those articles only tell you how to set up a serial adapter. The don't explain how to make the OS boot a console to them.

    This article is right on point but it is for Ubuntu 6.06: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SerialConsoleHowto

    I was hoping for something a little more current.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    What windows version are you using?
    Curious if you have seen this: https://askubuntu.com/questions/5923...nd-serial-port


    Note: Don't forget to try different baud rates.


    Another site that may help: http://www.chipkin.com/using-putty-f...l-replacement/


    And a few more methods here: https://unix.stackexchange.com/quest...e-as-using-ssh
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    I'm thinking you don't understanding the question. I have the serial ports working. Putty on windows talks to putty on the Ubuntu machine already. What I need is for the Ubuntu to boot into and bring up a console on the serial port so that I can control the Ubuntu box from within putty on the windows box.
    Last edited by hillboy2; May 19th, 2017 at 06:15 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    You would be right in not understanding question>
    It's been a very long time since I've needed to do this...but have a look at this: https://www.howtoforge.com/setting_up_a_serial_console
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    That file recommends editing the old grub /boot/grub/menu.lst

    Like I said everything I can find written is pre upstart and grub2.

    What are the configuration files and settings for grub2 as it relates to the serial ports?
    Last edited by hillboy2; May 19th, 2017 at 07:33 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    16

    Re: Boot to ttyUSB0 console with no screen

    https://askubuntu.com/questions/9946...serial-console

    Following those direction got me a console window on my remote terminal. However I can't login. It doesn't like my password.

    Edit: My login failure was due to using the wrong user name. duh.

    I'm good now.
    Last edited by hillboy2; May 19th, 2017 at 08:13 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •