Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 153

Thread: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Thanks for the tutorial, I'm hoping I can get everything working with just a few questions:

    I have a web server set up at home with a dynamic IP address from my ISP, and two domain names registered (domain1.name and domain2.ca). I also have a dynamic DNS service with DynDNS (subdomain.dyndns.org).

    What I'd like to do is have my DNS server living at domain1.name, which then has zones for my web server, domain2.ca.

    The configuration and such for BIND seems to involve only one domain - which one do I use? And then how do I set up ns1.domain1.name, ns2.domain1.name? I'm assuming I just forward port 53 to the Ubuntu machine?

    Thanks for your help

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Delfim Moreira MG, Brazil
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    I have set up a small caching DNS at home and made a 3 part blog post about it, both to document it for my own sake, and to be a help for others that might need it.

    The thread here has been part of my source for what I have learnt during the process and I added a link back here at the end of the series.

    Check it out: http://www.wisnaes.com/2009/10/25/se...tting-started/
    Regards,

    Oceanwatcher
    Blog about free software: http://www.datahverdag.com/

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Beans
    215
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Thanks, Oceanwatcher. Superb blog! I shall bookmark it for when I get my server fully up and running.

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Delfim Moreira MG, Brazil
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Thanks for the kind words I hope it will be useful.
    Regards,

    Oceanwatcher
    Blog about free software: http://www.datahverdag.com/

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    29

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Hi Ppl;
    I followed the instructions to the letter, replacing for instance ns1.example.com with vaalgate.nagwolf.net (vaalgate is the Ubuntu server's name), etc. but not working...

    Error I receive when restarting Bind9 is
    rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused

    any Ideas please how to address this, and then I was just wondering, purpose of this will be for friends to connect to a VPN server with IP 10.10.10.12/29
    The DNS server's IP is 10.10.10.10/29
    I've set the IP's allowed to connect to this VPN server to 192.168.10.x and my friends' WAN routers are of IP range 172.17.3.x, although they have Lan IP's behind the router of 192.168.10.x

    I hope someone can make sense of this, and tell me if I'm introducing too many IP ranges, which might be the problem as well.

    Thank you and I shall now go and start praying that someone can help me make sense

    N8

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Kingston, Canada
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind - SOLVED

    I'm getting the same error.

    Code:
    /etc/bind/zones/rev.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa:1: unknown RR type 'example.com'
    Nov 10 12:47:22 loadbox2 named[32445]: zone 1.168.192.in-addr.arpa/IN: loading from master file /etc/bind/zones/rev.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa failed: unknown class/type
    Nov 10 12:47:22 loadbox2 named[32445]: zone 255.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 1
    Nov 10 12:47:22 loadbox2 named[32445]: /etc/bind/zones/*****.com.db:1: unknown RR type 'replace'
    Nov 10 12:47:22 hashbox2 named[32445]: zone *****.com/IN: loading from master file /etc/bind/zones/*****.com.db failed: unknown class/type
    This is a clip from my syslog.

    I removed all comments from the files that contain comments with the double slashes. The server behaved properly and return the 127.0.0.1 localhost

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    490
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Quote Originally Posted by NagWolf View Post
    Hi Ppl;
    I followed the instructions to the letter, replacing for instance ns1.example.com with vaalgate.nagwolf.net (vaalgate is the Ubuntu server's name), etc. but not working...

    Error I receive when restarting Bind9 is
    rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused

    any Ideas please how to address this, and then I was just wondering, purpose of this will be for friends to connect to a VPN server with IP 10.10.10.12/29
    The DNS server's IP is 10.10.10.10/29
    I've set the IP's allowed to connect to this VPN server to 192.168.10.x and my friends' WAN routers are of IP range 172.17.3.x, although they have Lan IP's behind the router of 192.168.10.x

    I hope someone can make sense of this, and tell me if I'm introducing too many IP ranges, which might be the problem as well.

    Thank you and I shall now go and start praying that someone can help me make sense

    N8
    I had that same error with Jaunty. When I installed it on Karmic it worked. I think there is a bug in Jaunty and I recommend running Karmic instead.
    Last edited by spikoley; December 13th, 2009 at 06:24 AM.
    |

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    hey im a big noob but learning. so far ive configured ubuntu server with no-ip free domain and i got it to work with apache2 and vhost. my idea was to host 2 online sites and one over only LAN.

    before i fixed with vhost i had the lan server and after vhost i lost the lan. then i read some where that i had to install BIND and make it host the lan dsn for me. but when i read the instructions here but im lost. i dont know if its my dyslexia thats kicking in or that im tired now mabe both. but if some one can help me? or is there an easy way to do this?

    as i said i want 2 online sites and one lan server only and if possible named "media"(i got vhost on the 2 online sites working for me)

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Western NC
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Would anyone mind looking over my files here and tell me if you guys see anything obviously wrong here? I've been working on this for several hours now - following both tutorials to the letter. I keep getting a SERVFAIL message when I do a "dig" command from the local host machine (the one to be a server).

    I am running Ubuntu Server Edition v.9.10 (Karmic, I believe.)
    In addition to BIND9, I have XAMPP (LAMPP), SAMBA, and OpenSSH. All are working fine. I can ping the server locally and on my LAN without problems using the server IP address. Windows computers can see the SAMBA stuff without any problems. I can SSH using PuTTY - as long as I call the server by IP address, rather than host name. Basically, the server is happily "seeing" the network and Internet, and talking amongst its neighbors - but not by DNS host name.

    I've included all my file contents here, and the exact results of a "dig" command launched from the server, and an "ifconfig".

    I know this is lengthy, but would you guys mind looking over my stuff and see if there is something that I am just not seeing - give me a "fresh" pair of eyes, so to speak?

    My "/etc/resolv.conf":
    Code:
    search costelloe.net
    nameserver 10.0.0.10
    My "/etc/hosts" file:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1       localhost
    10.0.0.10       svr.costelloe.net
    
    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1     localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
    My "/etc/bind/named.conf" file (still at default settings):
    Code:
    // This is the primary configuration file for the BIND DNS server named.
    //
    // Please read /usr/share/doc/bind9/README.Debian.gz for information on the
    // structure of BIND configuration files in Debian, *BEFORE* you customize
    // this configuration file.
    //
    // If you are just adding zones, please do that in /etc/bind/named.conf.local
    
    include "/etc/bind/named.conf.options";
    include "/etc/bind/named.conf.local";
    include "/etc/bind/named.conf.default-zones";
    "/etc/bind/named.conf.options" file:
    Code:
    options {
            directory "/var/cache/bind";
    
            // If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
            // to talk to, you may need to fix the firewall to allow multiple
            // ports to talk.  See http://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/800113
    
            // If your ISP provided one or more IP addresses for stable
            // nameservers, you probably want to use them as forwarders.
            // Uncomment the following block, and insert the addresses replacing
            // the all-0's placeholder.
    
            forwarders {
                    64.102.255.44;
                       };
    
            auth-nxdomain no;    # conform to RFC1035
            listen-on-v6 { any; };
    };
    My "/etc/bind/named.conf.local" file:
    Code:
    zone "costelloe.net" {
            type master;
            file "/etc/bind/zones/svr.costelloe.net.db";
            };
    
    zone "0.0.10.in-addr.arpa" {
            type master;
            file "/etc/bind/zones/rev.0.0.10.in-addr.arpa";
            };
    My "/etc/bind/zones/svr.costelloe.net.db" file:
    Code:
    $TTL 1h
    svr.costelloe.net.     IN   SOA   svr.costelloe.net. (
            2010012101
            28800
            3600
            604800
            38400
    )
    
    svr.costelloe.net.     IN   NS   svr.costelloe.net.
    
    localhost       IN     A         10.0.0.10
    
    svr             IN     A         10.0.0.10
    My "/etc/bind/zones/rev.0.0.10.in-addr.arpa" file:
    Code:
    $TTL 1h
    @ IN SOA svr.costelloe.net. (
            2010012101;
            28800;
            604800;
            604800;
            86400
    )
            IN      NS      svr.costelloe.net.
    10      IN      PTR     svr.costelloe.net.
    Results of "dig costelloe.net":
    Code:
    ; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> costelloe.net
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 60584
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;costelloe.net.                 IN      A
    
    ;; Query time: 0 msec
    ;; SERVER: 10.0.0.10#53(10.0.0.10)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jan 21 01:16:18 2010
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 31
    Results of "dig svr.costelloe.net"
    Code:
    ; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> svr.costelloe.net
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 41969
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;svr.costelloe.net.             IN      A
    
    ;; Query time: 0 msec
    ;; SERVER: 10.0.0.10#53(10.0.0.10)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jan 21 01:17:12 2010
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 35
    Results of "ifconfig":
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0c:6e:2b:02:57
              inet addr:10.0.0.10  Bcast:10.0.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::20c:6eff:fe2b:257/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:18153 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:14688 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:2193447 (2.1 MB)  TX bytes:2411251 (2.4 MB)
              Interrupt:22 Base address:0xc000
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:779 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:779 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:68612 (68.6 KB)  TX bytes:68612 (68.6 KB)
    I really appreciate anyone taking the time to check my stuff here, it's probably something really simple - but for the life of me, I haven't a clue. I've reconstructed these files completely from scratch (except the default files) about 4 times now, and the errors persist. Any suggestions, ideas, thoughts?

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    I.R.IRAN
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    I have a few questions about bind.
    for example ip address for aaa.com is 111.111.111.111 and i want to configure bind in my laptop so when i ping aaa.com or dig aaa.com instead of 111.111.111.111 it gives me 222.222.222.222(222.222.222.222 is not the ip address for aaa.com).
    i couldn't do that with bind. request for ip address of aaa.com reaches my laptop bind instead of real dns server but it doesn't return anything!
    can anyone help me to do that?

Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •