Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Beans
    10

    Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    I'm having a hard time trying to connect to a WPA protected wi-FI with My Lenovo 710s running Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS. The wi-fi does not need any CA certificate only username and paasword. The problem im having is that sometimes it connects, sometimes it just randomly dc's and Im not able to reconnect and sometimes I cant connect at all. I can connect to any other wi-fi except this one.
    I've tried Downgrading My wpa_supplicant to version 2.1 with no luck.


    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by ajgreeny; February 17th, 2017 at 04:56 PM. Reason: Tabulated formatting removed.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    13,533
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    How close is the laptop to the wifi antenna? 5 ft? Line of sight? or 200 ft around a corner of a brick/cement bldg?

    Some wifi cards need extra help to work with some APs. Changes to the AP settings AND sometimes options for the wifi card driver are needed.

    There is a wifi-info script in these forums. Find that, run it, and post the output back here for more help. Also the exact type of AP being used and info about it would be helpful.

    Along with all the other stuff, the output from
    Code:
    sudo iwlist scan| egrep 'SSID|wlan|Channel|Quality|Cell'
    would be helpful.

    Please use code tags, like I did above, so things are readable.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Beans
    10

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFu View Post
    How close is the laptop to the wifi antenna? 5 ft? Line of sight? or 200 ft around a corner of a brick/cement bldg?

    Some wifi cards need extra help to work with some APs. Changes to the AP settings AND sometimes options for the wifi card driver are needed.

    There is a wifi-info script in these forums. Find that, run it, and post the output back here for more help. Also the exact type of AP being used and info about it would be helpful.

    Along with all the other stuff, the output from
    Code:
    sudo iwlist scan| egrep 'SSID|wlan|Channel|Quality|Cell'
    would be helpful.

    Please use code tags, like I did above, so things are readable.
    Thanks for your answer!

    I was in a rush and left my laptop at work, but I'll try those things and reply as soon as I get back on Monday. I'm actually not sure where the antenna is, but I had the Wi-Fi working flawlessly for 2 days so I doubt that it's that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    13,533
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    Things change. In 2 days, a new AP could have been setup by someone else that trashes your connectivity.

    wifi signals get interference all the time as different devices come in and out of range. Interference is a huge problem with wifi. You need to know where the antenna is or it isn't worth the effort, IMHO. Trying to connect to an AP too far away is a waste of time. Same for trying to connect when there are different SSIDs on the same channel of similar signal strengths.

    I always use wired whenever possible. I'm typing this on a chromebook with a USB3-to-ethernet adapter. Wifi is available, but after working 1200+ deployments in my career, I've learned to avoid wifi whenever possible. Makes me much happier.

    If it worked 2 days ago, it probably is NOT driver or Ubuntu settings related. I would start with the environment.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Beans
    10

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    Code:
    Output for 
    sudo iwlist scan| egrep 'SSID|wlan|Channel|Quality|Cell':lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
              Cell 01 - Address: 44:D9:E7:88:F6:01
                        Channel:1
                        Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                        Quality=49/70  Signal level=-61 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can connect"
              Cell 02 - Address: 44:D9:E7:88:F6:00
                        Channel:1
                        Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                        Quality=48/70  Signal level=-62 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can't connect"
              Cell 03 - Address: 44:D9:E7:88:91:00
                        Channel:1
                        Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                        Quality=32/70  Signal level=-78 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can't connect"
              Cell 04 - Address: 04:18:D6:76:E3:A0
                        Channel:1
                        Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                        Quality=48/70  Signal level=-62 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can't connect"
              Cell 05 - Address: 44:D9:E7:88:91:01
                        Channel:1
                        Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                        Quality=37/70  Signal level=-73 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can connect"
              Cell 06 - Address: 04:18:D6:DA:AC:E0
                        Channel:11
                        Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                        Quality=42/70  Signal level=-68 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can't connect"
              Cell 07 - Address: 04:18:D6:77:0A:40
                        Channel:11
                        Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                        Quality=50/70  Signal level=-60 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can't connect"
              Cell 08 - Address: 04:18:D6:77:0A:41
                        Channel:11
                        Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                        Quality=49/70  Signal level=-61 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can connect"
              Cell 09 - Address: 04:18:D6:DA:AC:E1
                        Channel:11
                        Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                        Quality=48/70  Signal level=-62 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can connect"
              Cell 10 - Address: 44:D9:E7:88:F6:10
                        Channel:36
                        Frequency:5.18 GHz (Channel 36)
                        Quality=35/70  Signal level=-75 dBm  
                        ESSID:"Can't connect"
    I switched the SSID to "Can connect" and "Can't connect" since I can connect to the guest wi-fi but not the employee one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Beans
    10

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    I'm sorry for the double post but I'm having all kinds of trouble editing/posting today.

    Here is the wireless-info.txt:

    http://pastebin.com/YzU17A6k
    Last edited by pokehge; February 20th, 2017 at 09:56 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    13,533
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    whoever setup this wifi doesn't appear to understand RF. Putting nearby APs on the same channel is a terrible idea. They should rotate between ch1, ch6 and ch11 in the USA. These are the only 2.4GHz channels that don't overlap in the USA spectrum. Other countries have different allowed channels, like Japan adds ch13 which should ALWAYS be used there. Using the same channel and same SSID means the clients can't figure out which AP to connect with.

    Then there is the signal strength. In my home, I'm seeing -32dB- -44dB for signal levels. Those in the -50 and higher levels are down the street - in different bldgs. You need a closer AP. Or did I misread the signal strengths posted above?

    The posting issues have been happening to me too, but I get a warning first, so I've learned not to dbl post by saving the post into my xbuffer, then reloading the thread. Almost always, my post actually did go through and no other actions are needed. Actually got an error posting this replay. "Must wait 30 seconds ..."
    Last edited by TheFu; February 21st, 2017 at 01:46 PM. Reason: removed less-than-nice parts. Sorry.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Beans
    10

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    Okay, so there is an AP right next to me, which rules out that problem, any other suggestions?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    24,280
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    Please do:
    Code:
    sudo sed -i 's/wifi.powersave = 3/wifi.powersave = 2/' /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/default-wifi-powersave-on.conf
    The wireless file shows:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
     
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    It also shows network manger is installed and running if that is the case them that file should only have the following in it:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    This command should reset that file:
    Code:
    echo -e "auto lo\niface lo inet loopback" | sudo tee /etc/network/interfaces
    If you still have trouble after doing the above commands please run the wireless script again and post the file again.
    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    13,533
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Connecting to WPA & WPA2 enterprise Wi-Fi

    Quote Originally Posted by pokehge View Post
    Okay, so there is an AP right next to me, which rules out that problem, any other suggestions?
    You moved? Or that AP isn't on?

    That number of APs all using the same channels is a poor design.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •