Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problems with Samba (Xubuntu 16.04-1) and Windows 10

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Problems with Samba (Xubuntu 16.04-1) and Windows 10

Good Morning except it is not a good morning see following.

I have 2 test file-servers using 16.06-1 (64bit) with the appropriate samba and both will not connect to W10 PC's. One (M) is clean build from scratch and the other (K) was a system that had been upgraded from 14.04.
    System K 14.04 => 16.04 had working Samba connections. But I had to upgrade from 16.04-1 (32 bit) to 16.04-1 (64bit) because of problems with my archival software needing 64bit. but I cannot get W 10 to see or login the servers.

In fact, the 2 servers exhibit different symptoms so I believe that I have missed something in the setup. I have been using Samba for several years on several systems, with no real problems except getting used to the changes that Microsoft bring in with every new version. But I am probably not "seeing the wood for the trees" so I need some help.

I have checked directory permissions and ownership, the correct passwords, etc.

As I stated previously,, the 2 systems exhibit different symptons :-

System K I do not see at all in windows, no entry in the "make new network connections" wizard. I must be missing something or setting up something incorrectly.
    System M I see M in the wizard but cannot connect.

On the MIcrosoft site, there are are a lot of questions about connection problems, Samba to W10 but they give information about activating the synchronisation bit but only for the Windows server software.
    I use master copies of smb.conf as smb.conf.master and use testparm to generate smb.conf.

I have not attached any files of results but I will supply them when needed,and in order. I just need to go through the fault finding, in order, with at least another set of eyes viewing the outputs. Possibly start with System K and then lead onto M.

Best Wishes
    Jim R