Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: changed to static IP, can't connect to internet

  1. #11
    aeronutt is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central MD
    Beans
    853

    Re: changed to static IP, can't connect to internet

    Most excellent help, thanks! Here we go:

    Code:
    > ls -al /etc/resolv.conf 
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 47 Nov  2 21:04 /etc/resolv.conf
    and

    Code:
    > cat /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    domain hsd1.md.comcast.net.
    Note that "domain hsd1.md.comcast.net." has a 'dot' at the end. Is that a possible issue?

    Thanks!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,193
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: changed to static IP, can't connect to internet

    aeronutt; Hey !!


    I got my doubts here as:
    sysop@1404mini:~$ ls -al /media/sysop/ubie1604//etc/resolv.conf
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 29 May 16 2015 /media/sysop/ubie1604//etc/resolv.conf -> ../run/resolvconf/resolv.conf
    the config is a symlink to the target " /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf ".
    Does the target exist on your system ?
    Code:
    ls -al /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf
    And as this is a static setup .. would it not be better to set DNS in /etc/network/interfaces ??
    see : https://help.ubuntu.com/lts/servergu...iguration.html

    And yeah I do think that the '.' after net is invalid .. but I also tend to think that even the field "domain" is now invalid in later versions of linux - I could be wrong here ! -. Use of /etc/network/interfaces for DNS will resolve this also .

    maybe now we are seeing some light
    THE current(cy) in Documentation:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PopularPages

    Happy ubuntu'n !

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,047
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: changed to static IP, can't connect to internet

    Still no DNS and still no gateway...

    Please amend your /etc/network/interfaces to:
    Code:
    source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    allow-hotplug eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    	address 192.168.0.132
    	netmask 255.255.255.0
    	gateway 192.168.0.1
            dns-nameservers 192.168.0.1 8.8.8.8
    Please verify that the address of the router/gateway is actually 192.168.0.1; you might check the network configuration on other devices on the same network.

    Next, do:
    Code:
    sudo ifdown eth0 && sudo ifup -v eth0
    Did you get the requested address?
    Code:
    ifconfig
    Can you reach the internet?
    Code:
    ping -c3 8.8.8.8
    ping -c3 www.google.com
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

  4. #14
    aeronutt is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central MD
    Beans
    853

    Re: changed to static IP, can't connect to internet

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    aeronutt; Hey !!


    I got my doubts here as:

    the config is a symlink to the target " /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf ".
    Does the target exist on your system ?
    Code:
    ls -al /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf
    And as this is a static setup .. would it not be better to set DNS in /etc/network/interfaces ??
    see : https://help.ubuntu.com/lts/servergu...iguration.html

    And yeah I do think that the '.' after net is invalid .. but I also tend to think that even the field "domain" is now invalid in later versions of linux - I could be wrong here ! -. Use of /etc/network/interfaces for DNS will resolve this also .

    maybe now we are seeing some light
    Results:
    Code:
    > ls -al /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf
    ls: cannot access /run/resolvconf/resolv.conf: No such file or directory
    I had wondered if putting DNS in /etc/network/interfaces was the better way...but I was trying to do everything via webmin, so not quite sure what it's trying to do. Or if I used webmin correctly.

  5. #15
    aeronutt is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central MD
    Beans
    853

    Re: changed to static IP, can't connect to internet

    UPDATE...SUCCESS!!!!

    Adding
    "gateway 192.168.0.1"
    "dns-nameservers 192.168.0.1 8.8.8.8"
    to /etc/network/interfaces fixed it!

    Again, thanks so much for the excellent help, much appreciated, and much to learn!
    Thanks.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,193
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: changed to static IP, can't connect to internet

    aeronutt; Outstanding ...

    We all do good work here .
    Pleased ya got it sorted .

    I thowt I saw a puddy cat
    THE current(cy) in Documentation:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/PopularPages

    Happy ubuntu'n !

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •