Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Beans
    4

    Post TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    I would like to say that I tried a lot for this USB adapter installation.

    Here I put every single link. From where I took references.

    First I tried:
    Code:
    http://www.tp-link.com/en/download/Archer-T4U.html
    second I tried:
    Code:
    https://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B00JBJ6VG8
    on this page one comment is Linux Installation for this device is not trivial, needs work.

    third I tried:
    Code:
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2264741
    then I tried:
    Code:
    https://github.com/ptpt52/rtl8812au

    Still, I don't get the satisfied answer. Please help me and give me step by step answer if possible.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    55,477

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    Thread moved to the "Networking & Wireless" forum for a better fit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,516
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    Let's start by identifying your exact device. Please open a terminal and run and post here:
    Code:
    lsusb
    uname -r
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Beans
    4

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    Oh finally!! Thanks chili

    Code:
    root@Xman:~# lsusb
    Bus 002 Device 004: ID 2357:0101  
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 003: ID 0cf3:3121 Atheros Communications, Inc. 
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 04f2:b40d Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd 
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0eef:a103 D-WAV Scientific Co., Ltd 
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 007 Device 002: ID 046d:c05a Logitech, Inc. M90/M100 Optical Mouse
    Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    root@Xman:~# uname -r
    4.4.0-42-generic
    root@Xman:~#

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    /home
    Beans
    6,960
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    So what are the results from
    Code:
    lsusb
    with the device not plugged in?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,516
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    With a working internet connection, please do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get purge rtl8812au-dkms
    If it isn't installed, that's fine; just continue:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install git dkms
    git clone  https://github.com/ptpt52/rtl8812au.git
    cd rtl8812au
    sudo make -f Makefile.dkms install
    sudo modprobe rtl8812au
    You should be all set.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Beans
    4

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    I followed every step but then I got this error:

    Code:
    root@Xman:~/rtl8812au# sudo make -f Makefile.dkms install
    make clean
    make[1]: Entering directory '/home/a/rtl8812au'
    make ARCH=x86_64 CROSS_COMPILE= -C /lib/modules/4.4.0-42-generic/build M=/home/a/rtl8812au clean
    make[2]: Entering directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-4.4.0-42-generic'
    make[2]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-4.4.0-42-generic'
    make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/a/rtl8812au'
    mkdir -p '/usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14'
    cp -r dkms.conf Kconfig Makefile.dkms Makefile platform core hal include os_dep '/usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14'
    cp Makefile '/usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14/Makefile'
    sed 's/#MODULE_VERSION#/4.3.14/' dkms.conf > '/usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14/dkms.conf'
    dkms add -m rtl8812au -v 4.3.14 2>/dev/null || true
    
    Creating symlink /var/lib/dkms/rtl8812au/4.3.14/source ->
                     /usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14
    
    DKMS: add completed.
    dkms build -m rtl8812au -v 4.3.14
    
    Kernel preparation unnecessary for this kernel.  Skipping...
    
    Building module:
    cleaning build area....
    make KERNELRELEASE=4.4.0-42-generic KVER=4.4.0-42-generic.............................
    cleaning build area....
    
    DKMS: build completed.
    dkms install -m rtl8812au -v 4.3.14
    
    rtl8812au:
    Running module version sanity check.
    
    Good news! Module version v4.3.14_13455.20150212_BTCOEX20150128-51 for rtl8812au.ko
    exactly matches what is already found in kernel 4.4.0-42-generic.
    DKMS will not replace this module.
    You may override by specifying --force.
    
    depmod....
    
    DKMS: install completed.
    
    root@Xman:~/rtl8812au# sudo modprobe rtl8812au
    modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'rtl8812au': Required key not available

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,516
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'rtl8812au': Required key not available
    Please see: http://askubuntu.com/questions/76225...kernel-modules

    The quick and easy way is to disable secure boot in the BIOS.
    You can disable Secure Boot (UEFI) in the BIOS with the following steps:

    1. Reboot your machine and enter the BIOS Menu (In my case pressing F2)
    2. Search for Secure Boot and change to Legacy
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Beans
    4

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    It's working. Thanks, man. I didn't try on legacy mode. Thanks once again
    Last edited by jeremy31; October 22nd, 2016 at 11:56 PM. Reason: language

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    24,516
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    Glad it's working! Please use thread tools at the top to mark Solved. The searchers will appreciate it.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D., Sc.D.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •