Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Beans
    4

    Post TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    I would like to say that I tried a lot for this USB adapter installation.

    Here I put every single link. From where I took references.

    First I tried:
    Code:
    http://www.tp-link.com/en/download/Archer-T4U.html
    second I tried:
    Code:
    https://www.amazon.com/product-reviews/B00JBJ6VG8
    on this page one comment is Linux Installation for this device is not trivial, needs work.

    third I tried:
    Code:
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2264741
    then I tried:
    Code:
    https://github.com/ptpt52/rtl8812au

    Still, I don't get the satisfied answer. Please help me and give me step by step answer if possible.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    58,412

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    Thread moved to the "Networking & Wireless" forum for a better fit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,043
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    Let's start by identifying your exact device. Please open a terminal and run and post here:
    Code:
    lsusb
    uname -r

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Beans
    4

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    Oh finally!! Thanks chili

    Code:
    root@Xman:~# lsusb
    Bus 002 Device 004: ID 2357:0101  
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 003: ID 0cf3:3121 Atheros Communications, Inc. 
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 04f2:b40d Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd 
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 002: ID 0eef:a103 D-WAV Scientific Co., Ltd 
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 007 Device 002: ID 046d:c05a Logitech, Inc. M90/M100 Optical Mouse
    Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    root@Xman:~# uname -r
    4.4.0-42-generic
    root@Xman:~#

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    /home
    Beans
    11,247
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    So what are the results from
    Code:
    lsusb
    with the device not plugged in?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,043
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    With a working internet connection, please do:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get purge rtl8812au-dkms
    If it isn't installed, that's fine; just continue:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install git dkms
    git clone  https://github.com/ptpt52/rtl8812au.git
    cd rtl8812au
    sudo make -f Makefile.dkms install
    sudo modprobe rtl8812au
    You should be all set.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Beans
    4

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    I followed every step but then I got this error:

    Code:
    root@Xman:~/rtl8812au# sudo make -f Makefile.dkms install
    make clean
    make[1]: Entering directory '/home/a/rtl8812au'
    make ARCH=x86_64 CROSS_COMPILE= -C /lib/modules/4.4.0-42-generic/build M=/home/a/rtl8812au clean
    make[2]: Entering directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-4.4.0-42-generic'
    make[2]: Leaving directory '/usr/src/linux-headers-4.4.0-42-generic'
    make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/a/rtl8812au'
    mkdir -p '/usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14'
    cp -r dkms.conf Kconfig Makefile.dkms Makefile platform core hal include os_dep '/usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14'
    cp Makefile '/usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14/Makefile'
    sed 's/#MODULE_VERSION#/4.3.14/' dkms.conf > '/usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14/dkms.conf'
    dkms add -m rtl8812au -v 4.3.14 2>/dev/null || true
    
    Creating symlink /var/lib/dkms/rtl8812au/4.3.14/source ->
                     /usr/src/rtl8812au-4.3.14
    
    DKMS: add completed.
    dkms build -m rtl8812au -v 4.3.14
    
    Kernel preparation unnecessary for this kernel.  Skipping...
    
    Building module:
    cleaning build area....
    make KERNELRELEASE=4.4.0-42-generic KVER=4.4.0-42-generic.............................
    cleaning build area....
    
    DKMS: build completed.
    dkms install -m rtl8812au -v 4.3.14
    
    rtl8812au:
    Running module version sanity check.
    
    Good news! Module version v4.3.14_13455.20150212_BTCOEX20150128-51 for rtl8812au.ko
    exactly matches what is already found in kernel 4.4.0-42-generic.
    DKMS will not replace this module.
    You may override by specifying --force.
    
    depmod....
    
    DKMS: install completed.
    
    root@Xman:~/rtl8812au# sudo modprobe rtl8812au
    modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'rtl8812au': Required key not available

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,043
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'rtl8812au': Required key not available
    Please see: http://askubuntu.com/questions/76225...kernel-modules

    The quick and easy way is to disable secure boot in the BIOS.
    You can disable Secure Boot (UEFI) in the BIOS with the following steps:

    1. Reboot your machine and enter the BIOS Menu (In my case pressing F2)
    2. Search for Secure Boot and change to Legacy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Beans
    4

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    It's working. Thanks, man. I didn't try on legacy mode. Thanks once again
    Last edited by jeremy31; October 22nd, 2016 at 11:56 PM. Reason: language

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    26,043
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: TP LINK AC1200 t4u for ubuntu 16.04

    Glad it's working! Please use thread tools at the top to mark Solved. The searchers will appreciate it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •