Thread: Samsung Xpress C410W Printer and installation

Beans

Samsung Xpress C410W Printer and installation

Hi

I have an Xpress (SL-C410W) Samsung Laser Printer which up to now have had attached to a windows PC. Recently I have installed Ubuntu 16.04 and I am trying to connect this printer to Ubuntu. I have read forums which have said to install Unified Linux Driver, which I can't find on Samsung's website, however, there is a Samsung Printer Software Installer there. Anyway I have tried downloading and extracting this program and tried installing the printer via CUPS but when I test the printer the printer does not work. I am not sure what I am doing wrong but I am new to Ubuntu so I am wondering if I need to do something else or if I have missed something. I connected the printer by USB and am hoping to get it wireless.

Please help.

Thank you in advance.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Samsung Xpress C410W Printer and installation

This might work: run Printers (or Printing?) and select Add, or perhaps "+". Then "proceed" or "OK" or whatever moves you forward. (Sorry, I run several variants of Ubuntu, but not Ubuntu itself.)

If you want to access the printer via wireless, do not install it by USB, that will just confuse the issue. Set it up as wireless, then after "Add," select "network printer."

Beans
    Hidden!

OK, go to http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...t/SL-C410W/XAA and click on See More + at the bottom of the Downloads section. Scroll through until you see:

Code:
    Print Driver (Driver) ver. V1.00.36_00.91 - Linux 
    (MULTI LANGUAGE,14.66 MB)
    Click on DOWNLOAD (GZ)

Now extract the GZ archive where ever you can find it again... say perhaps into the Downloads folder in which you saved it originally.