Thread: Corrupted display during boot - GNOME Edition

Beans

Exclamation Corrupted display during boot - GNOME Edition

I'm having some trouble with Ubuntu. Kindly note that I am a newbie to Linux. This is my hardware setup:

MSI AM1 motherboard: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/AM1I.html#hero-overview
    Processor: AMD Sempron APU 2650 1.45 Ghz with Radeon R3 graphics
    RAM: Corsair 4 GB DDR3 (single stick)

I have installed Ubuntu GNOME 16.04 after a few tries. The issue I faced during installation and the one I face during boot is a corrupted display. I have to turn off / reset the system multiple times before it works. I have updated it fully after installation, and also installed a proprietary AMD driver that was under the Additional Drivers section.

I get the GRUB boot screen below:
    IMG_20160703_134659.jpg

After I select Ubuntu, I get this:
    IMG_20160703_134713.jpg

No amount of turning off / resetting helps. Just not able to go past the corrupt display!

Please help!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate Development Release

Re: Corrupted display during boot - GNOME Edition

Hello and welcome to the forum, This looks like a driver issue to me this post might help you with this issue
    http://askubuntu.com/questions/46059...sktop-amd-7970
    Last edited by RobGoss; July 3rd, 2016 at 12:10 PM.

Beans

Thanks! I went through the link you gave. During the last session when it had successfully booted, I had checked in the Additional Drivers section, there was only 1 processor driver listed, which I installed.

I have tried the nomodeset option. It made no difference. Of course, it could also be due to me not having entered it correctly as I am not very familiar with Linux.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by guardianin View Post