Thread: Switching video cards a problem? Ubuntu 14.04

Beans

Switching video cards a problem? Ubuntu 14.04

Hello there,

I have a Ubuntu rig running 14.04, and a while back I switched from a Geforce 750 to a 970, and it wrecked the OS. I had to reformat and reinstall.

Now I want to switch the 970 for a AMD 7870, and was worried that I would destroy the OS again. Can anyone verify whether it's safe to switch cards? If so, what do I need to do in term of drivers?

Sorry, I am VERY new to Linux in general, and have little to no experience working in terminals.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: Switching video cards a problem? Ubuntu 14.04

You likely did not wreck your OS before. You most likely simply needed to uninstall the driver and reinstall it after replacing the cards.

Similarly, this time you need to remove the NVIDIA driver, switch the cards and then install the fglrx (AMD) driver -- or just use the default open source Radeon driver.
    Please read The Forum Rules and The Forum Posting Guidelines
    My Blog
    A thing discovered and kept to oneself must be discovered time and again by others. A thing discovered and shared with others need be discovered only the once.
    This universe is crazy. I'm going back to my own.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by QIII View Post
    You likely did not wreck your OS before. You most likely simply needed to uninstall the driver and reinstall it after replacing the cards.

Similarly, this time you need to remove the NVIDIA driver, switch the cards and then install the fglrx (AMD) driver -- or just use the default open source Radeon driver.
    Thank you for the reply.

I had our IT guy at work look at the OS before, who is familiar with linux, and after days of trying he was unable to fix it. Thus you are right, I may not have.

However, I wasn't able to do it with my skill level.