Thread: FreeNAS to Ubuntu server

Beans

Question FreeNAS to Ubuntu server

Hi all.

I'm in the process of migrating from FreeNAS to Ubuntu server. that's due to general performance. Ive been having trouble with apps that fails, stops and not starting.
    I've been using FreeNAS for 4 years now, and learned a a lot, but stil a rookie. Now i'm hoping that Ubuntu can give med a better joy and less time typing commands in console.

What ive been using FreeNAS for is Local storage for is:
    Local storage for personal files and hard to get software
    Personal Pictures and Home made movies.
    local backup of Movies and TV-Shows for using with KODI in home network.

So I'm asking for some help til get me started.

First off. my Server spec.

CPU: Processor information
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07GHz, 4 cores

Memory Real memory
    7.51 GB total / 1006.98 MB used

Virtual memory
    7.70 GB total / 0 bytes used

HDD
    10x500GB (will be changed to 2TB drives when i have budget for it)
    2x2TB
    (All drives are in a ZFS pool)

SAS controller
    LSI SAS 9211-8i with p16 IT mode firmware
    (I have a Lenovo SAS expander but not in use yet)

So far i have installed:

Ubuntu Server 16.04 LTS
    MySQL server (for KODI purpose)
    Webmin
    ZFS-utils for linux

1: I want to use the ZFS pool i have on FreeNAS, and be able to manage the pool from webmin.

2: share my pool om my LAN for both NFS and CIFS.
    Last edited by cariboo; May 28th, 2016 at 01:42 AM. Reason: Remove unneeded table formatting

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: FreeNAS to Ubuntu server

Quote Originally Posted by lars17 View Post
    1: I want to use the ZFS pool i have on FreeNAS, and be able to manage the pool from webmin.
    webmin is not supported. although it works well for some you may have issues at home point with it.