Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am new to linux, xubuntu core, help install browser

Beans

I am new to linux, xubuntu core, help install browser

I am new using linux, I downloaded Xubuntu core, but it does not even have a text editor, or archive manager! Could someone help me install Firefox browser, a text editor and archive manager?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: I am new to linux, xubuntu core, help install browser

Welcome. Open a terminal and:

sudo apt-get install synaptic
    Once that is done, look in the menu for Synaptic Package Manager. You can search and install what you want from there. You can install whatever you want via the terminal, but Synaptics is a little more friendly for newcomers.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate

Also have a look at the package of anything you load up and see what your getting.

http://packages.ubuntu.com/wily/xubuntu-core

And you do have a text editor, its called nano.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Nano

PS
    SPM contains all package info.
    http://www.googlubuntu.com/results/?...ch&cof=FORID:9
    Last edited by v3.xx; March 6th, 2016 at 03:52 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by v3.xx View Post
    And you do have a text editor, its called nano.
    Think OP may be looking for a GUI text editor as in Abiword, Leafpad, or Libreoffice rather than a terminal text editor, none of which are installed in x-core (though there are a couple of terminals).

Xubuntu-core is very lean.
    Last edited by Bucky Ball; March 6th, 2016 at 05:30 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by zancudo2 View Post
    I am new using linux, I downloaded Xubuntu core, but it does not even have a text editor, or archive manager! Could someone help me install Firefox browser, a text editor and archive manager?
    If you want Xubuntu's default programs, install xubuntu-desktop.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus