Thread: Dual-boot Ubuntu (14.04.3) on a Windows 8.1 laptop? Pretend I'm an idiot.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Dual-boot Ubuntu (14.04.3) on a Windows 8.1 laptop? Pretend I'm an idiot.

I have a HP15-G261SA w/8.1, and I want to dual-boot Ubuntu. I have a Ubuntu 14.04.3LTS iso ready to rock and roll. My problem is finding easy-to-follow dual-boot instructions. Although I've been using Ubuntu for many years, I have next-to-no Windows know-how, and as soon as instructions start babbling Windows jargon I'm lost (I'm the man who still doesn't understand why you have to go to the "Start" menu to turn the machine off...). My last Ubuntu installation was on a laptop w/ Windows 7, which was sweet. But now this UEFI business has got me stumped.

I've defragged Windows 8.1, I have created the Windows 8.1 recovery DVDs... and that's it. I read I should use the Windows partition tool to create the Linux partitions... but that's all she wrote. No info on how many partitions I can make, what kind of partitions they should be... I'm scared I might screw the machine up, notwithstanding my recovery disks. I haven't got a lot of money, and I can't afford to kill the laptop.

HP15-G261SA specs:
    1TB HDD, 4GB RAM, quad-core AMD APU; DVD-RW drive, USB 3.0 x 1, USB 2.0 x 2.

On a related note: if I decided to forget the Windows 8.1 on the laptop (I wouldn't use it v much anyway), and if I chose to install Ubuntu 14.04.3 on the entire disk, would that installation be as straightforward as it would be on a computer with BIOS? Or has UEFI changed everything? Because, if necessary I will wipe the Windows off the machine and go for a Ubuntu-only install... if that's easier...?

Cheers!
    t0p
    "All people are scum. No matter what they look like." ~ Spider Jerusalem, Transmetropolitan #4

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

Re: Dual-boot Ubuntu (14.04.3) on a Windows 8.1 laptop? Pretend I'm an idiot.