Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    My previous picture hosting site went down, so here is the most current one I have on Arch Linux:

    Last edited by Cavsfan; March 16th, 2018 at 09:54 PM. Reason: Made it clickable

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    There is one thing that Arch Linux does when there is an update to grub that requires intervention and that is it makes all the files in /etc/grub.d/ executable.
    Code:
    [cavsfan@Le-Beast grub.d]$ ls -l -a
    total 80
    drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Mar 16 16:12 .
    drwxr-xr-x 113 root root 12288 Mar 16 16:12 ..
    -rwxr-xr-x   1 root root  8871 Mar 14 16:56 00_header
    -rwxr-xr-x   1 root root  2888 Dec 31 18:14 06_custom
    -rwxr-xr-x   1 root root 10400 Mar 14 16:56 10_linux
    -rwxr-xr-x   1 root root 10455 Mar 14 16:56 20_linux_xen
    -rwxr-xr-x   1 root root 11301 Mar 14 16:56 30_os-prober
    -rwxr-xr-x   1 root root   214 Mar 14 16:56 40_custom
    -rwxr-xr-x   1 root root   216 Mar 14 16:56 41_custom
    -rw-r--r--   1 root root   483 Mar 14 16:56 README
    So, you need to make 10_linux and 30_os-prober unexecutable. Also memtest86+ if you have that installed.
    sudo chmod -x <file-name>...

    Since no new /boot/grub/grub.cfg file was generated as a result of the update, no further action is required.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    If you want the ability to restart and shutdown from the Grub menu, add these to the bottom of /etc/grub.d/06_custom:
    Code:
    menuentry "System restart" {
        echo "System rebooting..."
        reboot
    }
    menuentry "System shutdown" {
        echo "System shutting down..."
        halt
    }
    Then enter sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg to update Grub with these changes.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Beans
    1,018

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    Hi Cavsfan,
    I use a custom font in grub created with
    Code:
    sudo grub-mkfont --output=/boot/grub/fonts/DejaVuSansMono18.pf2 --size=18 /usr/share/fonts/truetype/dejavu/DejaVuSansMono.ttf
    The side borders are dotted lines using this font.
    Looking at your pic the borders don't appear to be dotted lines.
    What font do you use?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    Quote Originally Posted by guber2 View Post
    Hi Cavsfan,
    I use a custom font in grub created with
    Code:
    sudo grub-mkfont --output=/boot/grub/fonts/DejaVuSansMono18.pf2 --size=18 /usr/share/fonts/truetype/dejavu/DejaVuSansMono.ttf
    The side borders are dotted lines using this font.
    Looking at your pic the borders don't appear to be dotted lines.
    What font do you use?
    Hi guber2!
    I used to use this on Ubuntu and Arch Linux:
    Code:
    sudo grub-mkfont --output=/boot/grub/DejaVuSansMono.pf2 --size=24 /usr/share/fonts/truetype/ttf-dejavu/DejaVuSansMono.ttf
    Then added a line in /etc/default/grub:
    Code:
    GRUB_FONT=/boot/grub/DejaVuSansMono.pf2

    But, that became huge, too big, when I swapped out my DVI to HMDI cable with an HDMI-HDMI cable.
    So, I just took building the font and adding the line to /etc/default/grub out and used the default font.

    I'll try that and see what happens. Maybe font size 18 will work better than 24 did.
    Plus, putting the font in /boot/grub/fonts/ is probably the default font location for grub anyway.

    Since I added Restart and Shutdown I have to scroll down to see shutdown.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    @guber2, that will definitely not work. I tried font size 18 like you have and everything was huge again. Only about 4 lines displayed.

    So, I tried 12 and that was still too big. I got vertical dashes on the sides but, it displayed less than the default.

    Then I tried size 8 and everything did display, all 16 lines but, the font was too small.

    I'll just leave it at default. That way you do not have to add the GRUB_FONT= line to the /etc/default/grub file.

    Because as you probably already know, if you do not add that line, it will still use the default font - /boot/grub/fonts/unicode.pf2 - and you can see that in /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

    We are talking about Arch Linux and not Ubuntu right? I don't think it matters much concerning the font.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    We are talking about Arch Linux and not Ubuntu right? I don't think it matters much concerning the font.
    +1 Just the size as you already noticed.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    We are talking about Arch Linux and not Ubuntu right? I don't think it matters much concerning the font.
    Quote Originally Posted by 1fallen View Post
    +1 Just the size as you already noticed.
    What you customized your Grub screen too?

    Edit: Well actually Arch and Ubuntu do handle grub a little differently e.g. the font colors are in /etc/default/grub.
    Last edited by Cavsfan; March 18th, 2018 at 12:41 AM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Beans
    1,018

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    @guber2, that will definitely not work. I tried font size 18 like you have and everything was huge again. Only about 4 lines displayed.

    So, I tried 12 and that was still too big. I got vertical dashes on the sides but, it displayed less than the default.

    Then I tried size 8 and everything did display, all 16 lines but, the font was too small.

    I'll just leave it at default. That way you do not have to add the GRUB_FONT= line to the /etc/default/grub file.

    Because as you probably already know, if you do not add that line, it will still use the default font - /boot/grub/fonts/unicode.pf2 - and you can see that in /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

    We are talking about Arch Linux and not Ubuntu right? I don't think it matters much concerning the font.
    I am using a normal DVI connection in Ubuntu and the custom font settings work for me.
    Default font (too small)
    Attachment 278976

    Custom Font (GRUB_FONT=/boot/grub/fonts/DejaVuSansMono-18.pf2)
    Attachment 278977

    I just noticed your grubscreen pic where the text looks larger than normal but maybe just a result of HDMI.
    As you seem to have a fair amount of knowledge about customizing grub, was wondering if you knew a font that didn't make dotted side borders?
    Last edited by again?; March 18th, 2018 at 01:59 AM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Custom Grub for Arch in multi-boot system that is maintenance free

    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    What you customized your Grub screen too?

    .
    Well of course I did. Can't have just plain old grub. now can we!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cavsfan View Post
    Edit: Well actually Arch and Ubuntu do handle grub a little differently e.g. the font colors are in /etc/default/grub.
    Picky Picky! But True.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •