Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Extremely bored of Linux Mint, Ubuntu, what should I use

Beans

Extremely bored of Linux Mint, Ubuntu, what should I use

So I've using Ubuntu and Linux Mint for a month now and I'm extremely bored of the two.
    Al tho I've had a lot of good experiences with Linux Mint the only problem was that I couldn't create a persistent Linux Mint USB drive so I kept going back and forth between these two. I really love the Software Manager on Linux Mint as it's much more stable and just overall better. And the help IRC for Mint is amazing. But I'm just bored of these two and I want to learn and get more into Linux as these two have been very simple and boring. But I don't want a distro that is very hard for begginers to use such as Arch.
    I want a distro that has good 3rd party support and a popular one so I can get help from their forums.
    I've been looking into fedora and openSUSE and there's many articles that say openSUSE is very good and that sort.
    So what should I do? Please don't tell me to try out an Ubuntu based distro.
    And I don't want it to be too hard either as I'm still a noob and haven't fully got the hang of the terminal yet.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: Extremely bored of Linux Mint, Ubuntu, what should I use

You do realize that under the hood Linux Mint and Ubuntu are Linux and all the Linuxy stuff is there for you to putter around with, right?

You won't see a whole lot different from the driver's seat in any other distro. Oh, I suppose the difference between apt and yum might be interesting for a bit. But there is nothing keeping you from trying another distro, so pick one. Fedora has a good support community.

Lift the hood on Ubuntu and Mint if you're bored.
    Last edited by QIII; September 15th, 2015 at 07:37 PM.
    Please read The Forum Rules and The Forum Posting Guidelines