Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: How To Set Mp3 Quality in avconv?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,451

    Re: How To Set Mp3 Quality in avconv?

    Quote Originally Posted by johny why View Post
    Thank you very much for this superb info. My current purpose is Android playback, which i believe those formats can't do.
    Android 3.1 added native FLAC support: https://developer.android.com/guide/...a-formats.html

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    15,599
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: How To Set Mp3 Quality in avconv?

    The default music players on my Android phones have always played FLAC and Ogg Vorbis natively, including my now three-year-old Samsung S3. FLAC is the only format I've used for music archiving for the past few years. MX Player for Android covers all the bases when it comes to video playback including things like 10-bit H.264 and H.265 ("hevc") encodes, though the latter probably only works with the software decoder.

    I'd avoid proprietary formats like WMA, but anything open like FLAC, Matroska, etc., plays fine on Android just like they do on Linux systems. I'd give the native formats a try before getting into re-encoding.
    Last edited by SeijiSensei; September 5th, 2015 at 07:08 PM.
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    66

    Re: How To Set Mp3 Quality in avconv?

    Quote Originally Posted by andrew.46 View Post
    vlc runs on Android, and this should be able to playback many of the codecs I have mentioned.
    thx for that! but i also have to save space on my droid. Will reserve those uncompressed formats for my pc.

    Quote Originally Posted by shantiq View Post
    change 320 for 64,128,156,192,224,256, to suit your wish does the same as -q in effect
    was wondering about that. What happens if quality and bitrate conflict with each other?

    anyone know if best quality is 1 or 0?

    Main unanswered question now, the error i'm getting on 2-pass. Posted here:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2293537

    thx

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hippiesoldierstan Norwich
    Beans
    2,267
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: How To Set Mp3 Quality in avconv?

    only use one at a time
    Linux is Latin for off-the-beaten-track
    what I like MOST about our Ubuntu ... The Community
    Playing with Slackware too now ...
    ShanArt

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Metro Boston
    Beans
    15,599
    Distro
    Kubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: How To Set Mp3 Quality in avconv?

    Quote Originally Posted by johny why View Post
    thx for that! but i also have to save space on my droid. Will reserve those uncompressed formats for my pc.
    I use a memory card on my phones. Both my old S3 and my new LG Stylo support cards. Even 32 GB holds a lot of music.
    Last edited by SeijiSensei; September 6th, 2015 at 06:07 PM.
    If you ask for help, do not abandon your request. Please have the courtesy to check for responses and thank the people who helped you.

    Blog · Linode System Administration Guides · Android Apps for Ubuntu Users

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    66

    Re: How To Set Mp3 Quality in avconv?

    Quote Originally Posted by SeijiSensei View Post
    I use a memory card on my phones. Both my old S3 and my new LG Stylo support cards. Even 32 GB holds a lot of music.
    Thx, i know about memory cards. I use one in my phone.

    thx

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •