Thread: fsck.ext4 unable to set superblock flags after a bad unmount?

Beans

fsck.ext4 unable to set superblock flags after a bad unmount?

Hello there! This is my first time posting here on the forums, though I've spent quite some time here in the past (mostly while troubleshooting issues on my own). It's been a great resource, and up until now I've been able to solve all of my own problems with just a bit of searching, but it seems luck's run out on that one, unfortunately.

Straight to it, then. I run Ubuntu 10.10 on my laptop, as it's too old and weak of a machine to handle newer Unity-enabled versions. Even with this, it's been running into more and more trouble over the years, as software like Firefox and resource-hogging site designs have been pushing it hard (only 1GB RAM to work with). More recently, it's been causing the system to hang due to RAM usage going too high, and forcing manual shutdowns to get out at all. Not a good thing.
    To make a long story short, occasionally these shutdowns cause data loss, requiring the use of a live CD to get into the terminal and run fsck manually so the partitions can be mounted again. This last time however went one further, and now even that isn't working.

Running
    Code:
    fsck -y /dev/sda2
    returns a result like this:
    Code:
    /dev/sda2: recovering journal
    Superblock needs_recovery flag is clear, but journal has data.
    Run journal anyway? yes

fsck.ext4: unable to set superblock flags on /dev/sda2
    My system is partitioned with a boot, root, and home on separate partitions. The boot partition has errors as well, but fsck runs on it without an issue; the root and home partitions both return the same "unable to set superblock flags" error every time however, regardless of what I've tried. (I've also tried using backup superblocks, but it seems those aren't the problem, since it returns the same result.)