Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Changing boot animation

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

Changing boot animation

Hello, as I'm a bit of a noob with Linux, and only recently figured out how to theme Ubuntu, I was wondering if it was possible to change the boot animation/splash screen (I think it's called?). To something like... This: http://youtu.be/apx_HyxFqjA
    its the first-boot animation from the Ubuntu edition XPS 13 Dell, I know adding something like this will prolong boot times, but hey, I could show it off to friends as something to brag about. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Changing boot animation

plymouth (the booting splash) is deeply implemented and cant be themed

Beans

I would respectfully disagree that Plymouth can't be themed. There are many Plymouth themes available. I currently use one on Ubuntu 12.04 and Xubuntu 14.04.

Where do you find them? In the Ubuntu repositories search for plymouth-theme and several will show up. The one called plymouth-theme-solar is the best looking one in there. More and better can be found if you go to gnome-look.org. In the categories on the left of their main page, look for "Splash Screens".

I am using Earth-sunrise:

http://gnome-look.org/content/show.p...content=137171

Quite spectacular.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by Dennis N View Post
    I would respectfully disagree that Plymouth can't be themed. There are many Plymouth themes available. I currently use one on Ubuntu 12.04 and Xubuntu 14.04.

Where do you find them? In the Ubuntu repositories search for plymouth-theme and several will show up. The one called plymouth-theme-solar is the best looking one in there. More and better can be found if you go to gnome-look.org. In the categories on the left of their main page, look for "Splash Screens".