Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

  1. #21
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!


  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    11,189

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    just do "df -h" in terminal to see where tmpfs is being used.

    here's mine so you have something to compare it to.

    Code:
    Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    udev            972M     0  972M   0% /dev
    tmpfs           197M  5.4M  192M   3% /run
    /dev/sda1       110G  4.7G  100G   5% /
    tmpfs           983M   12M  971M   2% /dev/shm
    tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
    tmpfs           983M     0  983M   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
    tmpfs           197M   48K  197M   1% /run/user/1000
    Last edited by kerry_s; June 1st, 2015 at 08:50 AM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Beans
    34

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by Elfy View Post
    I don't think Ubuntu uses systemd already

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Beans
    34

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by kerry_s View Post
    just do "df -h" in terminal to see where tmpfs is being used.

    here's mine so you have something to compare it to.

    Code:
    Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    udev            972M     0  972M   0% /dev
    tmpfs           197M  5.4M  192M   3% /run
    /dev/sda1       110G  4.7G  100G   5% /
    tmpfs           983M   12M  971M   2% /dev/shm
    tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
    tmpfs           983M     0  983M   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
    tmpfs           197M   48K  197M   1% /run/user/1000
    I will when it gets filled again, I just rebooted.
    What would be a "Filesystem: none" ? My /run/lock, shm, user and /syst/fs/cgroup are all mounted as "none", and only /run as TMPFS.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    11,189

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    "none" means there's no physical disk partition.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,251

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    This whole thing about disabling tmpfs doesn't make any sense to me. Maybe you should just try removing stuff you don't need. Do you really need brltty? Do you print? (if not, get rid of cups) Do you scan? (if not, get rid of saned) Do you need speech-dispatcher? Etc. etc. etc.
    Here's my Debian sid system with xfce, firefox, audacious running:

    Code:
    # df -h
    Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    udev             10M     0   10M   0% /dev
    tmpfs           779M  696K  779M   1% /run
    /dev/sda1        52G   15G   35G  30% /
    tmpfs           2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /dev/shm
    tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
    tmpfs           2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
    tmpfs           2.0G   92K  2.0G   1% /tmp
    /dev/sda3       404G  283G  100G  74% /media/something
    tmpfs           390M  4.0K  390M   1% /run/user/1000
    
    # free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:          3893       2209       1684         13         94       1442
    -/+ buffers/cache:        672       3221
    Swap:         3814          0       3814

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Here
    Beans
    11,189

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    i don't think he should go that far.

    it's got to be something he installed, not standard to the base os.
    i suspect chromium/chrome extensions, i tried chromium, it's screwy you can't even enable hardware accel.
    so i grabbed chrome, with chrome the hardware accel fix works fine. but it is gobbling up some memory still. i can see in the task manager the extensions are using the most & i only have 2, ublock & flash control.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by holysword View Post
    I don't think Ubuntu uses systemd already
    oops - sorry, been using the unreleased version of *buntu for so long I forget others might be a version or 3 behind

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Beans
    34

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by kerry_s View Post
    it's got to be something he installed, not standard to the base os.
    i suspect chromium/chrome extensions, i tried chromium, it's screwy you can't even enable hardware accel.
    so i grabbed chrome, with chrome the hardware accel fix works fine. but it is gobbling up some memory still. i can see in the task manager the extensions are using the most & i only have 2, ublock & flash control.
    Okay, I owned someone the output of "free" once my computer starts lagging, I will still be owning that.
    Problem is, I switched to Firefox to see if I could blame chrome as you guys are saying.

    It turns out that no. Firefox seems more stable at first, but then when it crashes, it crashes harder. Chromium normally gives trouble with several pages open, but Firefox screws up with just some few, as long as one of them is "heavy" (e.g. if Google Drive or GMail are open, I can only have max 5 tabs, even if the other tabs are just plain text). This is very random though, sometimes it runs okay for a longer time. But when fills up the memory, I cannot even use a terminal. Trying to change to TTY may take about 5min to give me access to a laggy command line. I just get tired and do a hard reboot instead. That's not healthy.

    I'm not sure if you guys can keep on trying to blame the browser (I bear no love for chrome or firefox, but I don't think its their fault). I will uninstall altogheter the flash plugin (even though chrome has its own and firefox had it "always ask" to enable) and see if anything changes, but I am unconvinced that the problem is the software.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Beans
    34

    Re: Why can't I stop swapping?!?!

    Many years have gone.

    I still haven't figured out how to disable TMPFS. There are 2347895023498256093487523 explanations on how to do that with systemd but I can't find any for upstart.

    My computer keeps on freezing and swapping all the time. I have tried using Firefox or Chromium.

    So tell me guys, should I just give up Ubuntu, is that what will solve my problem?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •