Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    If I put the following two lines in code tags, spaces are added at char position 64:

    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,cro ssmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    /nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure, crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)

    Code:
    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    /nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    So the first line has a space after letter o in crossmnt and the second line has a space before the word crossmnt. This means that writing a tutorial for people to copy and paste can be difficult. The spaces cannot be removed, at least not by me.

    Update: This seems to happen in the text as well, not just in the code sections. And it's intermittent...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    Quote Originally Posted by Scooby-2 View Post
    If I put the following two lines in code tags, spaces are added at char position 64:

    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,cro ssmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    /nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure, crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)

    Code:
    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    /nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    So the first line has a space after letter o in crossmnt and the second line has a space before the word crossmnt. This means that writing a tutorial for people to copy and paste can be difficult. The spaces cannot be removed, at least not by me.

    Update: This seems to happen in the text as well, not just in the code sections. And it's intermittent...
    As you can see if the whole post is quoted, there aren't any spaces added. When reading your post, there aren't any spaces in code blocks, just the unformatted text.

    Edit: Strange while creating the post there weren't any extra spaces, but once it is posted they reappear.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    Test.
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaa
    Code:
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    Edit : use code tags
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    01234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789 0123456789

    Code:
    012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789
    01234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789 0123456789
    HTML Code:
    012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789
    PHP Code:
    012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789 
    At the 51st char space, not 64th, in this experiment. And in post text and in quote tags only. @Scooby-2, if you managed to get spurious spaces in code within code tags you perhaps copy-pasted them from text in which the spaces had already been added? Neither bapoumba and I are getting unwanted spaces in code tags - nor in html and php tags either.
    Last edited by coffeecat; May 11th, 2015 at 10:45 PM.
    Ubuntu 16.04 Desktop Guide - Ubuntu 18.04 Desktop Guide - Forum Guide to BBCode - Using BBCode code tags - IRC #ubuntuforums

    Member: Not Canonical Team

    Please do not PM me about your forum account unless you have been asked to. The correct place to contact an admin about your account is here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    @all

    Thanks for the replies. So the rule is that if you want to print something that people may want to copy and paste. always use CODE/HTML/PHP. The position of the added space depends on the text being printed. In the snip from the /etc/exports file it appears at position 64. Weird.

    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,cro ssmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    /nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure, crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111 111111111111111111111
    (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( (((((((((((((((((
    Quote:
    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,cro ssmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)/nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure, crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111 111111111111111111111
    (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( (((((((((((((((((
    Code:
    Code:
    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)/nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
    (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((
    HTML:
    HTML Code:
    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)/nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111(((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((
    PHP:
    PHP Code:
    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)/nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( 
    /nfs/Public *(rw,all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure,cro ssmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)/nfs/janm *(rw,no_all_squash,sync,no_subtree_check,insecure, crossmnt,anonuid=65534,anongid=1000)
    11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111 111111111111111111111
    (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((( (((((((((((((((((

    At least we know how to avoid it, but I found out after people copy-pasted from a post I submitted. BTW font/font size seem to have no effect.
    Last edited by cariboo; May 13th, 2015 at 01:14 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    I don't know why vbulletin is inserting a space after 50 consecutive printing characters in the body of the text and within quote tags, but I cannot think of a reason why anyone would want more than 50 consecutive printing characters in those two situations.

    Quote Originally Posted by Scooby-2 View Post
    So the rule is that if you want to print something that people may want to copy and paste. always use CODE/HTML/PHP.
    The rule is - use code tags for code, terminal output and contents of configuration files, html tags for html code and php tags for php code. They all preserve formatting by maintaining white-spacing - which the main body text does not - and html and php tags add suitable colour coding to the code.

    So, yes, use the appropriate BBCode tags for all posts and howtos. This is recommended not just to aid copy-pasting but to ensure readability. Not using code tags when needed is an all-too common mistake.
    Ubuntu 16.04 Desktop Guide - Ubuntu 18.04 Desktop Guide - Forum Guide to BBCode - Using BBCode code tags - IRC #ubuntuforums

    Member: Not Canonical Team

    Please do not PM me about your forum account unless you have been asked to. The correct place to contact an admin about your account is here.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    Just to add I had a look yesterday to see if this was documented and found nothing. I may not have been using the proper search terms because I have no idea if this is a vBulletin thing or something web designers would know about, and no idea how this would be called
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    Quote Originally Posted by bapoumba View Post
    Just to add I had a look yesterday to see if this was documented and found nothing. I may not have been using the proper search terms because I have no idea if this is a vBulletin thing or something web designers would know about, and no idea how this would be called
    I've found it - and quite by accident. It's a vbulletin thing, more specifically I would guess a Ryan thing, a setting made in the dawn of time and quite forgotten since then. It's in ACP under Thread Display Options. It's set to insert a space after 50 characters to allow wrapping. Which makes sense I suppose!
    Ubuntu 16.04 Desktop Guide - Ubuntu 18.04 Desktop Guide - Forum Guide to BBCode - Using BBCode code tags - IRC #ubuntuforums

    Member: Not Canonical Team

    Please do not PM me about your forum account unless you have been asked to. The correct place to contact an admin about your account is here.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    Oh thanks coffeecat
    Is this something that we still need ?
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Forum software adds a space at character position 64

    Quote Originally Posted by coffeecat View Post
    I've found it - and quite by accident. It's a vbulletin thing, more specifically I would guess a Ryan thing, a setting made in the dawn of time and quite forgotten since then. It's in ACP under Thread Display Options. It's set to insert a space after 50 characters to allow wrapping. Which makes sense I suppose!
    Looks like 50 is default

    I also found this property in the ACP (which was already set to 50) ...
    http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...83&postcount=4

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •