Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Default Full Disk Encryption insecure? SHA1

Beans

Question Default Full Disk Encryption insecure? SHA1

Hello,

I'm wondering. Why is Ubuntu and Mint only using SHA1 for Full Disk Encryption? I heard several times that SHA1 shouldn't be used anymore because it is weak and it could be cracked.

Could you guys explain me why we should use the default GUI encryption if we can just encrypt the system over the terminal with like SHA512? I'm I paranoid or is it just a lie that SHA1 has been broken?

And

"As hardware gets more powerful, password cracking in such an occasion becomes a lot more viable and SHA1, (Cryptsetup's default) which already we should be far away from (but aren't), looks even more deprecated."

Moreover: All the encryption programs like TrueCrypt and Veracrypt they all do not use SHA1 anymore because it is insecure. So why is cryptsetup encrypting the whole drive with SHA1? It does not seem secure, does it?

I'm a rookie user so please explain me some stuff

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Default Full Disk Encryption insecure? SHA1

SHA-1 is a hash function, not an encryption tool. You usually encrypt with something like AES-256 which is the default now-a-days although there are others which may be faster -- blowfish, twofish, etc. You use hashes to verify the encrypted data or hash passwords.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

+1 to Kevdog's comments.

If the OP would like details about the encryption Ubuntu uses, this had a decent answer:
    http://security.stackexchange.com/qu...isk-encryption
    Knock knock.
    Race condition.
    Who's there?

Beans

I'm talking about the hash, guys.

I know that AES is supposed to be secure but why is the installer using sha1 for password hashing? I heard it is not secure and it can be brute forced quite easily. Why is it not using sha256 / 512 for whole disc encryption?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus